Skip Navigation


Commissions of Notary Public


A person who wishes to apply for appointment as a notary public first submits an application to the Secretary of State. The application is sent to the State Senator of the applicant’s Senatorial District and then to the Governor for their approval of appointment. After appointment by the Governor, the applicant is notified to appear before the Clerk of the Circuit Court of the County (or Baltimore City) where the applicant resides. Before the Clerk of the Court, the appointee takes the oath of office, receives the commission and is qualified to act as a notary public. All Montgomery County Notary Publics are sworn in (no appointment necessary).

The fee for a notary commission is $11. Notaries may pick-up their commissions between 8:30 and 4:00 pm Monday through Friday. Be sure to bring your drivers license.

The fee to authenticate a Montgomery County Notary is $1 per signature.

Click here for complete information regarding Notary Public in Maryland (Maryland Office of the Secretary of State, Notary Division).

Click here for Notary application form and instructions for a notary public.


Montgomery County Circuit Court
50 Maryland Avenue, Rockville, Maryland 20850
Office Hours: Monday through Friday, 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM