Skip Navigation
Top Stories
  • see caption below


    Montgomery County Council President Craig Rice talks with a senior from Northwest High School following the Council’s fifth annual Town Hall Meeting for Students. More than 100 people attended the meeting, including about a dozen students who participated via “Google Hangout” from the Long Branch Library in a first-ever Council pilot program. Questions and suggestions for Councilmembers ranged from changing school start times to bullying problems to a thought of building residence dorms at Montgomery College.

  • see caption below


    The Montgomery County Council on Oct 14 recognized October as National Breast Cancer Awareness Month, joining with representatives of the Montgomery County Women’s Cancer Control Program, Suburban Hospital and Holy Cross Hospital to remind women to get regularly checked. Since the program began in 1985, mammography rates have more than doubled for women age 50 and older and breast cancer deaths have declined.

  • see caption below


    Allison Stearns, executive director of Hospice Caring of Gaithersburg, talks about the impact her organization has had on its patients and families as the County Council on Oct. 14 recognized the organization’s 25 years of service.At the ceremonies in Rockville were, left to right: Tom Keller of Hospice Caring’s board of directors; Council President Craig Rice; and board members Sara Harris and Bill Hard.

  • see caption below


    Ulder Tillman, left, the Montgomery County Health Officer, on Oct. 14 presented updates to the County Council on a number of health-related issues that could impact the County. One of the issues she spoke about was the County’s preparedness in case potential Ebola cases are reported. A summary of Dr. Tillman’s presentation can be found at Board of Health Presentation

  • see caption below


    Montgomery County Councilmember Marc Elrich, who spurred an effort to create a County minimum wage, on Oct. 1 spoke at a rally of elected officials, union members and other supporters as the new law went into effect. The County minimum wage will gradually rise to $11.50 per hour over the next three years. Among those who spoke at the rally in Silver Spring were County Executive Leggett, State Delegate Tom Hucker, and Councilmembers Branson, Leventhal, Riemer and Navarro. Minimum Wage Law

  • see caption below


    Montgomery County Council Vice President George Leventhal and Natali Fani-Gonzalez, newest County Planning Board member, were featured guests at the latest En Sintonía con el Concejo del Condado de Montgomery (Tuned In with the Montgomery County Council). They talked about the functions of the Planning Board, the importance of the Board's decisions and the impact Ms. Fani-Gonzalez may have as the Board's first-ever Latina member. Video Part1 Video Part2

  • see caption below

    17th County Council . . .

    The 17th County Council of Montgomery County now includes new District 5 Councilmember Cherri Branson, who was appointed to a vacant position on Jan. 28. All Councilmembers will serve through Dec. 1, 2014. Seated, left to right: Cherri Branson, Council President Craig Rice, Council Vice President George Leventhal and Nancy Navarro. Standing: Hans Riemer, Phil Andrews, Nancy Floreen, Roger Berliner and Marc Elrich.

Council Headlines
Council Members
Council seal.
Connect With Us Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter View Council on YouTube Council Sessions,Committee Meetings and Public Hearings Calendar CCM Live

Información En Español

Legislative Branch Offices

  Office of the Inspector General  |  Board of Appeals |  Office of Legislative Oversight (OLO)

  Office of Zoning & Administrative Hearings |  Merit System Protection Board |  Charter Review Commission

Helpful Links
  2014 Election Dates
Property Tax
Information & Bill
Payment System
Vote Icon
2014 Election Dates
2014 Election Dates


Montgomery County Council, 100 Maryland Ave, Rockville MD 20850
Phone: (240) 777-7900 (voice) • (240) 777-7888 (fax) • (MD Relay) Dial 711 or 800-201-7165
Contact the County Council and Legislative Branch Offices