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ORDER 

The above captioned case having come before the Commission on Landlord-Tenant 
Affairs for Montgomery County, Maryland (the "Commission"), pursuant to Sections 29-14A, 
29-38 and 29-40 of the Montgomery County Code 1994, as amended ("County Code"), and the 
Commission having considered the testimony and evidence of record, it is, this 3rd day of 
April, 2001, found, determined and ordered, as follows: 

BACKGROUND 

On August 17, 2000, Bryan and Lisa Randall (the "Complainants"), former tenants at 17811 
Cottonwood Terrace, Gaithersburg, Maryland, (the "Property"), an unlicensed single family 
rental facility in Montgomery County, MD, filed a formal complaint with the Office of Landlord-
Tenant Affairs, within the Department of Housing and Community Affairs (the "Department"), 
in which they alleged Leroy and Mae Murray (the "Respondents'), owners of the Property: (1) 
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assessed unjust charges against their $1,450.00 security deposit plus $87.00 accrued interest after 
the termination of their tenancy, in violation of § 8-203(e)(4) of the Real Property Article, 
Annotated Code of Maryland, 1999 as amended ("State Code"), and (2) failed to issue them an 
itemized list of damages together with a statement of the actual costs incurred to repair that 
damage within forty-five (45) days after the termination of their tenancy, in violation of § 8-203 
(g)(1) of the State Code, and therefore, pursuant to § 8-203 (g)(2) of the State Code, the 
Respondents have forfeited their right to withhold any portion of their security deposit plus 
accrued interest, and they are liable for a penalty of three times the withheld amount.  

 
    Specifically, the Complainants assert that: (1) in March 2000, the Respondents issued 
them verbal notice to vacate the Property by July 1, 2000; (2) they responded by issuing verbal 
notice to the Respondents of their intention to vacate the Property by May 31, 2000, and they 
also requested a final walkthrough inspection; (3) the Respondents agreed to the lease 
termination date of May 31, 2000, and they conducted a final walkthrough inspection of the 
Property with Respondent Mae Murray on May 22, 2000; (4) as a result of the final inspection, 
the following list of damages and repair costs was created and agreed to: carpet cleaning 
($199.95), wood floor refinishing ($300.00), garage door repair ($50.00), fireplace cleaning 
(no charge) and replacement of the patio door screen (no charge); (5) the list of agreed upon 
damages and deductions was initialed by Respondent Mae Murray; (6) they vacated the Property 
on May 27, 2000; and (7) on August 29, 2000, ninety (90) days after the termination of their 
tenancy, the Respondents issued them an itemized list of damages totaling $1,517.00, and a 
refund check of $20.00. 

    The Respondents contend that: (1) the Complainants damaged the Property in excess of 
ordinary wear and tear during their tenancy; (2) the charges assessed against the 
Complainants'security deposit were for actual costs incurred to repair that damage; (3) they were 
unaware of the requirement to obtain a Rental Facility License prior to offering the Property for 
rent; and (4) they were unaware of the requirement to notify the Complainants within forty-five 
(45) days regarding the disposition of their security deposit. 

    The Complainants are seeking an Order from the Commission for the Respondents torefund 
their entire $1,450.00 security plus $87.00 accrued interest ($1,537.00), plus three times that 
amount ($4,611.00) as a penalty, for a total award of $6,148.00. 

    After determining that the complaint was not susceptible to conciliation, the Departmentduly 
referred this case to the Commission for its review, and on January 9, 2001, the Commission 
voted to accept jurisdiction of this case, and scheduled a public hearing for February 15, 2001. 

    The public hearing in the matter of Randall v. Murray, relative to Case No.10585, commenced 
on February 15, 2001, and concluded on that date. The record reflects that the parties were given 
proper notice of the hearing date and time. Present at the hearing and presenting testimony and 
evidence were the Complainant, Bryan Randall, on behalf of himself and his wife, Lisa Randall, 
and the Respondents, Leroy Murray and Mae Murray. There were no witnesses other than the 
parties present at the hearing. 



    Without objection from the Complainant or the Respondents, the Commission enteredinto the 
record of the hearing the case file compiled by the Department, identified as Commission Exhibit 
No 1. The Commission also entered into the record two (2) exhibits offered by the Respondents: 
a photograph of a room painted yellow and blue, identified as Respondents' Exhibit No. 1, and a 
series of 5 photographs of the carpet, identified as Respondents' Exhibit No. 2a - 2e. 

    Furthermore, the Commission extended the time period within which it would decide this 
matter pursuant to Section 7.1 of Appendix L, "Regulations on Commission on Landlord-Tenant 
Affairs" of the County Code. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

    Based on the testimony and evidence received at the hearing, the Commission makes 
thefollowing findings of fact: 

    1. The Respondents failed to obtain a Rental Facility License prior to offering the Property for 
rent to the Complainants, or at any time during the Complainants’ tenancy. 

    2. On August 17,1998, the Complainants signed a one-year lease agreement with the 
Respondents (the "Lease") for the rental of the Property, which commenced on October 1, 1998, 
and expired on September30, 1999. 

    3. On August 17, 1998, the Complainants paid the Respondents a security deposit of 
$1,450.00, which is receipted at Paragraph 3, "Security Deposit," in the Lease. 

    4. After the initial Lease term expired, the Complainants remained as tenants in the Property 
on a month-to-month basis. 

    5. In March 2000, the Respondents issued the Complainants a verbal notice to quit and vacate 
the Property by July 1, 2000. 

    6. On April 27, 2000, the Complainants issued the Respondents verbal notice of their intention 
to vacate the Property by May 31, 2000, and they also requested to be present for a final 
walkthrough inspection of the Property. 

    7. The Complainants and the Respondents agreed to the Lease termination date of May 31, 
2000, and on May 22, 2000, Respondent Mae Murray conducted a final walkthrough inspection 
of the Property with the Complainants at which time the following damages were noted in 
writing: 

    a. estimate for carpet cleaning          $ 199.95 
    b. floor refinishing (up to)                300.00 
    c. garage door                                   50.00 
    d. fireplace cleaning                   (no charge) 
    e. patio door screen replaced  (no charge) 



                        TOTAL                      $ 549.95 

    8. By correspondence dated May 24, 2000, the Complainants requested that the Respondents 
return $1,087.05 representing their security deposit ($1,450.00) plus accrued interest ($87.00) 
less the following repair costs which they agreed could be deducted: $199.95 for carpet cleaning, 
$200.00 towards the refinishing the wood floors and $50.00 towards the repair of the garage 
door, for a total deduction of $449.95. The Complainants also provided their forwarding address. 

    9. On August 29, 2000, ninety (90) days after the termination of the Complainants' tenancy, 
the Respondents sent to the Complainants a list of damages being assessed against their security 
deposit plus accrued interest, itemized as follows: 

    a. Wood Floor                               $ 390.00 
    b. Carpet Shampoo                          199.00 
    c. Garage Door                                  245.00 
    d. Repaint 2 Rooms                          350.00 
    e Stairwell Rods                                    48.00 
    f. MB/R Handle                                      20.00 
    g Chimney Sweep                            39.00 
    h Kitchen/Stove Cleaning                    30.00 
    i. Broken Water Faucet (front)           20.00 
    j. Water Bill                                  101.00 
    k Garage Opener                                  75.00 

                TOTAL                             $1,517.00 

    10. By the same August 29, 2000 letter, the Respondents issued a security deposit refund 
check to the Complainants in the amount of $20.00, which they did not cash. 

    11. The Commission credits the Complainant Bryan Randall’s testimony that at the time the 
Complainants vacated the Property, May 27, 2000, they paid the final water bill. The 
Complainant’s testimony is supported by the two water bills submitted as part of the complaint 
(See pages 11 and 12 of Commission’s Exhibit No. 1). 

    12. Paragraph 3 of the Lease, entitled "Security Deposit," required the Respondents to provide 
the Complainants with a written list of any damages to the Property being charged against their 
security deposit, together with a statement of costs actually incurred, within thirty (30) days after 
the termination of their tenancy. 

    13. Paragraph 3 of the Lease also required the Respondents to return any unused portion of the 
security deposit, together with simple interest accrued, to the Complainants within forty-five (45) 
days after the termination of their tenancy. The Lease provides no penalty for the failure to 
comply with this requirement. 



    14. Section 8-203, "Security Deposits, of the State Code, was changed, effective October 1, 
1999, to require the list of damages, the statement of costs actually incurred and the return of the 
security deposit all be accomplished within forty-five (45) days of the termination of the tenancy. 

    15. The Respondents testified at the hearing that they believed that because of the cordial 
relationship that they had with the Complainants, it was not necessary for them to comply with 
the security deposit provisions of the Lease or of the State Code. 

    16. The Respondents completely ignored their obligations with respect to notification and 
return of the Complainants’ security deposits, as required by both Paragraph 3 of the Lease and § 
8-203 of the State Code. 

    17. As of the termination date of the Complainants' tenancy, May 31, 2000, interest in the 
amount of $87.00 had accrued on the Complainants’ security deposit. 

    18. Based on the deductions from the security deposit agreed upon by the Complainants and 
Respondent, Mae Murray, at the final walkthrough inspection of the Property on May 22, 2000 
(See Findings of Fact No. 7 above), the Respondents had no reasonable basis to withhold from 
the Complainants’ security deposit plus accrued interest any more than $549.95.  

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

    Accordingly, based upon a fair consideration of the testimony and evidence contained in the 
record, the Commission of Landlord-Tenant Affairs concludes: 

    1. The Commission notes that Title VIII, "Landlord and Tenant," of the State Code, including 
§ 8-203, "Security Deposits," has been amended, and that the amendments became effective as of 
October 1, 1999. Therefore, although the Lease was entered into prior to October 1, 1999, 
including certain requirements and timelines regarding the handling and disposition of the 
security deposit, the Respondents' alleged violations of § 8-203 took place after October 1, 1999, 
and as a result, the newly enacted amendments apply in this case. 

     2. The Respondents failed to issue the Complainants an itemized list of damages together with 
a statement of the cost actually incurred to repair that damage within forty-five (45) days after 
the termination of their tenancy, in violation of § 8-203(g)(l) of the State Code, and therefore, 
pursuant to § 8-203(g)(2) of the State Code, the Respondents have forfeited their right to 
withhold any portion of the Complainants' security deposit plus accrued interest for damages. 

    3. The Respondents assessed unjust charges against the Complainants' security deposit after 
the termination of their tenancy to repair damages that were not agreed to, were not in excess of 
ordinary wear and tear, were improvements to the Property made by the Respondents in 
preparation for its sale, or were not the Complainants’ responsibility to repair, in violation of § 8-
203(f)(1)(i) and (f)(2) of the State Code. 

    4. The Respondents failed to refund any portion of the Complainants’ security deposit, 
together with simple interest which had accrued in the amount of 4 percent per annum, within 



forty-five (45) days after the termination of the Complainants' tenancy, in violation of § 8-
203(e)(l) of the State Code. 

    5. The Respondents had no legal or factual basis to withhold from the Complainants’ security 
deposit plus accrued interest any amounts in excess of the repair costs agreed upon during the 
final inspection of the Property, which sum is $549.95. Therefore, the Respondents unreasonably 
withheld $967.05 of the Complainants' security deposit plus accrued interest, after the 
termination of their tenancy ($1,450.00 deposit + $87.00 interest = $1,537.00 - $549.95 agreed 
damages = $987.05 - $20.00 deposit refund = $967.05), in violation of § 8-203(e)(4) of the State 
Code. 

    6. In addition to the forfeiture of their right to withhold any portion of the Complainants’ 
security deposit plus accrued interest, the Respondents are subject to the penalty provisions of § 
8-203(e)(4) of the State Code because they, without a reasonable basis, explanation or excuse, 
failed to refund $967.05 of the Complainants' security deposit plus accrued interest. 

    7. Based on the Complainants’ failure to cash the Respondents’ $20.00 security deposit 
refund, the Commission concludes that no portion of the Complainants’ $1,450.00 security 
deposit or $87.00 accrued interest was refunded by the Respondents. 

    8. The Respondents’ failure to handle and dispose of the Complainants’ security 
deposit in accordance with the applicable provisions of § 8-203 of the State Code and the 
applicable provisions of the Lease has created a defective tenancy. 

ORDER 

    In view of the foregoing, the Commission of Landlord-Tenant Affairs hereby orders the 
Respondents to pay the Complainants $1,937.00 which sum represents the refund of the 
Complainants’ entire security deposit of $1,450.00, plus accrued interest in the amount of 
$87.00, and a penalty of $400.00. 

    The foregoing decision was concurred in unanimously by Commissioners Roger Luchs, 
Mattie Ligon, and Gary G. Everngam, Panel Chair. 

    To comply with this Order, Respondents, Leroy and Mae Murray, must forward to the Office 
of Landlord- Tenant Affairs, 100 Maryland Avenue, 4th Floor, Rockville, Maryland, within 
fifteen (15) calendar days of receipt of this Decision and Order, a check payable to Bryan and 
Lisa Randall in the full amount of $1,937.00. 

    Respondents, Leroy and Mae Murray, are hereby notified that Section 29-44 of the County 
Code declares that failure to comply with this Decision and Order is punishable by a $500.00 
civil fine Class A violation as set forth in Section 1-19 of the County Code. This civil fine may, 
at the discretion of the Commission, be imposed on a daily basis until you comply with this 
Order . 



     In addition to the issuance of a $500.00 civil fine Class A violation, should the Commission 
determine that the Respondents have not, within fifteen (15) calendar days of the receipt of this 
Decision and Order, made a bona fide effort to comply with the terms of this Decision and 
Order, it may also refer the matter to the County Attorney for additional legal enforcement. 

    Any party aggrieved by the action of the Commission may file an administrative appeal to the 
Circuit Court of Montgomery County, Maryland, within (30) days from the date of this Order, 
pursuant to the Maryland Rules governing administrative appeals. 

  

__________________________________ 

Gary G. Everngam, Panel Chairperson 


