BEFORE THE
COMMISSION ON LANDLORD TENANT AFFAIRS

FOR MONTGOMERY COUNTY, MARYLAND

In the matter of: *
*
Heidi Downing, Julie Hussion, *
Megan MclIntosh, and Heather Ward *
Complainants *
*

V. * Case No. 25714
*
James and Pamela Finlay *
Respondents *

Rental Facility: 8512 Salem Way, Bethesda, Maryland — Unlicensed Property

DECISION AND ORDER

The above captioned case having come before the Commission on Landlord-Tenant
Affairs for Montgomery County, Maryland (the “Commission”), pursuant to Sections 29-10, 29-
14, 29-41, 29-44 and 29-47 of the Montgomery County Code, 2001, as amended (“County
Code”), and the Commission having considered the testimony and evidence of record, it is
therefore, this Lth day of May, 2005, found, determined and ordered, as follows:



On Julyl5, 2004, Heidi Downing, Julie Hussion, Megan MclIntosh, and Heather Ward
(the “Complainants”), former tenants at 8512 Salem Way, Bethesda, MD, (the “Property”), a un-
licensed single-family rental facility in Montgomery County, Maryland, filed a formal complaint
with the Office of Landlord-Tenant Affairs within the Department of Housing and Community
Affairs, (the “Department”), in which they alleged James and Pamela Finlay, owners of the
Property, (the “Respondents”): (1) assessed unjust charges against their security deposit plus
accrued interest after the termination of their tenancy, in violation of § 8-203(e)(4) of the Real
Property Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, 1999, as amended (“State Code”); (2) failed to
issue them an itemized list of damages together with a statement of costs actually incurred to
repair that damage within 45 days after the termination of their tenancy, in violation of § 8-
203(g)(1) of the State Code, and pursuant to § 8-203(g)(2), the Respondents forfeited their right
to withhold any portion of the security deposit plus accrued interest for damages; and (3) failed
to refund any portion of their security deposit in violation of § 8-203(e)(1) of the State Code.

Specifically, the Complainants assert that: (1) they did not damage the Property in excess
of ordinary wear and tear as a result of their tenancy; (2) they issued a notice to quit and vacate
almost three-months prior to the expiration of their lease agreement to which the Respondents
verbally agreed; and (3) on April 30, 2004, the Respondents listed the Property for sale “only.”

The Respondents contend that: (1) the Complainants breached the lease agreement by
moving out one-month prior to the expiration of the lease agreement; (2) the Complainants’ lease
obligation ended on June 30, 2004, and therefore, the Complainants were rent responsible
through that date; (3) a list of damages was sent to the Complainants informing them of their
responsibility for the rent and the unpaid Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission (WSSC)
water bill; and (4) they listed the Property for sale only because it was their intention to sell the
Property after the termination of the Complainants’ lease.

The Complainants are seeking an Order from the Commission for the Respondents to
refund their entire security deposit of $2,200.00, plus accrued interest of $88.00 for a total of
$2,288.00. In addition to the refund of their security deposit, the Complainants are requesting
threefold of the withheld amount ($6,864.00), plus attorney’s fees as a penalty.

After determining that the complaint was not susceptible to conciliation, the Department
referred this case to the Commission for its review, and on January 4, 2005, the Commission
voted to hold a public hearing on February 24, 2005. However, at the request of Respondents’
attorney, Matthew S. Evans, III, the Commission postponed the hearing date until March 16,
2005.



The public hearing in the matter of Heidi Downing, Julie Hussion, Megan MclIntosh, and
Heather Ward v. James and Pamela Finlay, relative to Case No. 25714, commenced on March
16, 2005, and concluded on that date. The record reflects that the Complainants and the
Respondents were given proper notice of the hearing date and time. Present at the hearing and
presenting evidence were the Complainants, Julie Hussion, Megan Mclntosh, and Heather Ward,
and the Respondents, James and Pamela Finlay. The Complainants were represented at the
hearing by attorney Christopher Staiti, and the Respondents were represented at the hearing by
attorney Matthew S. Evans, III.

Without objection, the Commission entered into the record of the hearing the case file
compiled by the Department, identified as Commission's Exhibit No. 1. The record of the
hearing was kept open for 10 days, until March 26, 2005, to allow the Respondents an
opportunity to provide the Commission with a copy of the final WSSC bill and payment and
receipts for plumbing repairs made during the Complainants’ tenancy. By a letter dated March
25, 2005, Respondents’ attorney provided the Commission with copies of the requested receipts
for plumbing work and a photocopy of the cancelled check (both sides) for payment of the final
WSSC bill. The record of the hearing closed on March 25, 2005.

Furthermore, the Commission has extended the time period within which it would decide
this matter pursuant to Section 7.1 of Appendix L, “Regulations on Commission on Landlord-
Tenant Affairs,” of the County Code.

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. On June 7, 2003, the Complainants and the Respondents entered into a one-year
lease agreement (the “Lease”) for the rental of the Property, which commenced on July 1, 2003,
and was due to expire on June 30, 2004.

2. At the time they signed the Lease, the Complainants paid the Respondents a
security deposit of $2,200.00, which is receipted at Paragraph 2, “Security Deposit”, of the
Lease.



3. The Lease failed to contain the disclosures required by § 8-203.1(a), “Security
deposit receipt,” of the State Code.

4, In a letter dated March 4, 2004, the Complainants issued to the Respondents a
written notice of their intention to vacate the Property by June 1, 2004, providing the
Respondents with a forwarding address for Julie Hussion at 5 Little Brooke Court, Olney, MD
20832, to mail their security deposit.

5. The Lease does not provide for oral modification of its terms by the parties. The
Commission finds that the Respondents neither orally agreed to an early termination nor did they
advise the Complainants that they would not be responsible for the last month’s rent. The
Commission did not find persuasive Complainants’ testimony that the Respondents agreed to an
early termination of the Lease based on Respondents’ desire to sell the Property.

6. In a letter dated April 2, 2004, the Complainants issued the Respondents a second
written notice reiterating their intent to vacate the Property by June 1, 2004, and again providing
the Respondents with a forwarding address for Julie Hussion to mail the security deposit.

7. On April 30, 2004, two months prior to the expiration of the Lease, the
Respondents listed the Property for “sale” only with Long and Foster Real Estate, Inc. (Listing
#MC4823791). The Property sold on July 13, 2004, and settled on August 18, 2004. At no time
after receiving notice from the Complainants that they intended to vacate the Property a month
prior to the expiration of their Lease, did the Respondents advertise the Property for rent.

8. At the request of the Complainants, Respondent James Finlay conducted a move-
out inspection of the Property on June 8, 2004. Respondent Jim Finlay refused to sign a move-
out inspection report as requested by the Complainants. The Commission notes that there were
no allegations of damage to the Property beyond normal wear and tear.

0. The Complainants vacated the Property on May 31, 2004, having paid rent in full
to the Respondents through that date.



10. In a letter dated June 2, 2004, the Complainants again requested the return of their
security deposit plus 4% interest, for a total of $2,496.00, and again provided the forwarding
address for Julie Hussion.

11. The Respondents testified that on June 23, 2004, they mailed the Complainants a
letter informing them, in pertinent part, “Since we are unable to rent or sell the property, you are
bound by that lease to pay the monthly rent for June of $2,250.” The letter also requested
payment for the water and sewage bill for the period March 24 through May 21, 2004, in the
amount of $666.27. The Complainants testified that they received neither the June 23, 2004
letter nor any itemized list of damages from the Respondents withholding their security deposit.
The Respondents maintain that the June 23, 2004 letter was the 45-day letter as required by § 8-
203 of the State Code.

12. The Complainants abandoned the Property as of May 31, 2004, one month prior
to the expiration of the Lease, and did not pay rent to the Respondents, in the amount of
$2,250.00, for the month of June 2004.

13. Upon notification by the Complainants that they were vacating the Property one
month early, the Respondents placed the Property up for sale with Long and Foster Realty, Inc.
The Respondents contend that this was their reasonable diligence to mitigate the Complainants’
damages. The Commission does not find that their effort to mitigate damages by placing the
Property up for sale satisfied the requirement of § 8-207(a)(3) of the Real Property Article,
Maryland Annotated Code.

14. The Respondents did not advertise the Property for rent at any time after the
Complainants notified them of the Complainants’ intention to vacate the Property prematurely or
at any time after the Complainants vacated the Property on May 31, 2004.

15.  The Respondents testified that the Complainants’ security deposit of $2,200.00
was withheld for unpaid rent for the month of June 2004, and not for the unpaid water bill. In
any event, the Commission finds that the Respondents failed to provide sufficient evidence
regarding what amount the Complainants actually owed toward the last water bill of their
tenancy, or what final amount the Respondents paid to WSSC.



16. The Respondents failed to refund any portion of the Complainants’ security
deposit within 45 days after the termination of the Complainants’ tenancy, and failed to pay the
Complainants interest which had accrued on the security deposit which sum is $44.00.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Accordingly, based upon a fair consideration of the testimony and evidence contained in
the record, the Commission on Landlord-Tenant Affairs concludes:

1. The Complainants breached the Lease with the Respondents and abandoned the
Property prior to the termination date of June 30, 2004. The Complainants demanded the return
of their deposit within forty-five (45) days of abandoning the Property in compliance with Real
Property Article § 8-203(h)(2)(i) of the State Code.

2. Pursuant to § 8-207(a)(3) of the State Code, the Respondents had an obligation to
mitigate the damages caused by the Complainants’ premature termination of tenancy, breach of
lease and abandonment of the Property. Mitigation of damages required that the Respondent use
due diligence to obtain a new tenant not a new owner, and the listing of the property only for sale
did not satisfy their duty to mitigate damages. See Wilson v. Ruhl, 277 Md. 607, 356 A.2d 544
(1976). The Commission notes that the case cited by Respondents’ counsel, Millison v. Clarke,
287 Md. 420, 413 A.2d 198 1980, involves a commercial lease not a residential lease. However,
Millison still holds that a landlord must exercise reasonable diligence in an effort to obtain a new
tenant. Millson 287 Md. at 207. The key point is that an effort must be made to obtain a new
tenant not a new owner of the property, which is all the Respondents attempted to do. The
Commission understands that it may have been difficult for the Respondents to find a tenant to
rent the Property for one month, but that did not excuse their duty to mitigate the damage and
attempt to re-rent the Property as required by law. If the Respondents had listed the Property for
“sale or rent,” they would have met their duty to mitigate as held by the court in Wilson.

3. Therefore, based on the above, the Commission finds that because the Property
was listed for “sale” only, the Respondents failed to properly mitigate the damages caused by the
Complainants’ abandonment of the Property and termination of occupancy before the end of the
term. Thus, the Complainants do not owe rent, in the amount of $2,250.00, to the Respondents
for the month of June 2004.



4. The Respondents caused a defective tenancy by failing to provide the
Complainants with a receipt for their payment of security deposit that contained the disclosures
and other information required by § 8-203.1(a) of the State Code.

5. The Respondents caused a defective tenancy by failing to properly mitigate
damages caused by the Complainants’ abandonment of the Property and termination of
occupancy before the end of the term, in violation of § 8-207 of the State Code.

6. Pursuant to § 8-203(e) of the State Code, interest accrues on a security deposit at
the rate of 4% per year, in 6-month intervals of 2%. In this case, the Complainants were tenants
in the Property for 11 months, which is more than 6 months, but less than 12 months, therefore,
their deposit accrued interest in the amount of 2%, $44.00.

7. The Complainants are not entitled to treble damages or attorneys fees. There is
no evidence in the record that the withholding of the Complainants’ security deposit was
unreasonable or in bad faith. Nor does the Commission find that the Respondents withheld the
security deposit for any unconscionable or malicious reason. Therefore, the Complainants’
request for a three-fold penalty of the withheld amount of their security deposit plus attorney’s
fees is DENIED.

ORDER

In view of the foregoing, the Commission on Landlord-Tenant Affairs hereby orders the
Respondents to pay the Complainants $2,244.00, which sum represents their security deposit of
$2,200.00 plus $44.00 interest.

Commissioner Kwaku Ofori, Commissioner Christopher Toven, and Commissioner Tina
Smith Nelson, Panel Chairperson, concurred in the foregoing decision unanimously.

To comply with this Order, Respondents, James and Pamela Finlay, must forward to the
Office of Landlord-Tenant Affairs, 100 Maryland Avenue, 4t Floor, Rockville, MD 20850,
within thirty (30) calendar days of the date of this Order, a check, made payable to Heidi
Downing, Julie Hussion, Megan McIntosh, and Heather Ward, in the full amount of $2,244.00.



The Respondents, James and Pamela Finlay, are hereby notified that Section 29-48 of the
County Code declares that failure to comply with this Decision and Order is punishable by a
$500.00 civil fine Class A violation as set forth in Section 1-19 of the County Code. This civil
fine may, at the discretion of the Commission, be imposed on a daily basis until there is
compliance with this Decision and Order. In addition to the issuance of a Class A civil citation
and $500.00 civil fine, should the Commission determine that the Respondents have not, within
thirty (30) calendar days of the date of this Decision and Order, made a bona fide effort to
comply with the terms of this Decision and Order, it may also refer the matter to the Office of the
County Attorney for legal enforcement.

Any party aggrieved by this action of the Commission may file an administrative appeal
to the Circuit Court for Montgomery County, Maryland within thirty (30) days from the date of
this Decision and Order, pursuant to the Maryland Rules governing administrative appeals. Be
advised that pursuant to Section 29-49 of the County Code, should the Respondents choose to
appeal the Commission's Order, she must post a bond with the Circuit Court in the amount of the
award ($2,244.00) if they seeks a stay of enforcement of this Order.

Tina Smith Nelson, Panel Chairperson

Commission on Landlord-Tenant Affairs
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