MONTGOMERY COUNTY, MARYLAND
DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY AFFAIRS
LICENSING AND REGISTRATION UNIT

CLASS 3
Accessory Apartment Rental License Application

(Please Read All Instructions on Back Prior
to Submitting Application)
Fees Required at Application Submission:
Application Fee: $250.00
Annual License Fee: $101.00
Sign Fee: $220.00

Mail Application with payments to:
DHCA/Licensing and Registration Unit
1401 Rockville Pike, 4th Floor
Rockville, Maryland 20852

Office Use Only:
License No.

Received Date
Evidence of OPR
Apt/Driveway Sketch

Residential Zone

Checks Payable to: Montgomery County, MD

Meets requirements: Y /N

Total: $571
PARTA ACCESSORY APARTMENT:
Address:
Street City Zip

Is AA under construction or will be? Y /N
*See #1 (a) ii on back

Start Date of Rental: / /

Location of Accessory Apartment:

Is AA an addition? Y /N

Number of Occupants:

Obtained Building Permit? Y /N
*See #1 (a) Il on back

Accessory Detached? Y/N

(18 years of age or older)

Number of Kitchens:

Location of Entrance Door to Accessory:

(This includes main house kitchen)

Lot Acreage:

On-site Driveway dimensions:

Has well/septic? Y/N

*See 3 on back

Sq. ft. of principal dwelling:

Date of Purchase:

Sq. ft. of accessory:

(If within 6 months, include HUD-1/Closing form)

*See #1 (a) xiv on back

Change to Floor Plan? Y /N

(If Yes, explain on separate paper)

Year AA Built: *
*See #1 (a) xiii and #7 on back

Is AA approved by Homeowners Association? Yes/No?

*See #8 on back

Is there an active special exception (SE) for your AA? Y /N

PARTB OWNER INFORMATION:
*See 1 (b) on back

If so, SE #: | want SE revoked: Yes/No

First Owner’s Name

Second Owner’s Name

Full Street Address

Full Street Address

Emergency Phone Cellular Phone

Emergency Phone Cellular Phone

Email Address

Email Address

| affirm under penalty of perjury that the above information is true to the best of my knowledge and belief. | also understand that if there are any changes in property
ownership, owner address, or agent/contact information that | must notify Montgomery County Department of Housing and Community Affairs (DHCA), Licensing &
Registration within 10 days of the change.

Owner’s Signature Date Second Owner’s Signature Date



Class 3 Accessory Apartment Application Instructions

1. File Class 3 Accessory Apartment license application with Department of Housing and Community Affairs, Licensing and
Registration Unit. You must mail or apply in person at the following address:

DHCA/Licensing and Registration Unit, 1401 Rockville Pike, 4th Floor ¢ Rockville, Maryland 20852

a. Part A: Accessory Apartment (AA)

Full address

If the AA is a new construction or under construction select “Y”, a building permit is required. Contact
Licensing Unit for requirements at 240-777-3666.

If you have a building permit, select “Y”. If not, you must obtain a building permit by contacting the
Department of Permitting Services at 240-777-0311, if required.

iv. Indicate the start date of rental and the number of occupants over the age of 18 years old.
v. If AAis detached from main house, select “Y” and write the location of the AA.

vi. Indicate how many kitchens are in all (main house, AA, etc).

vii. Indicate location of the accessory apartment entrance door. (i.e.: side of house)

viii. Indicate the dimensions of the driveway.
ix. Indicate the lot acreage (i.e. 1 acre, half acre, etc).
X. Indicate the square footage of the entire house and the square footage of the AA alone.
xi. If there was a change in the floor plan, select “Y” and indicate the change(s).

xii. If you purchased the property within 6 months, please include copy of HUD-1/Closing Form with

application.
xiii. Indicate the year your house/AA was built. Property must be 5 years old.
xiv. Indicate if property has well and/or septic. If so, must meet required code.

b. Part B: Owner Information

Write all owners’ full name and full street address, include emergency phone number, cellular number

and email addresses. Sign the application.
2. Show evidence of primary residence (select one below)

a. The owner’s most recent Maryland income tax return; or
b. The owner’s current Maryland’s drivers license; or
c. The owner’s real estate tax bill for the address of the proposed accessory apartment.

3. Provide a ruled-drawn detailed drawing with the dimensions of the proposed accessory apartment and the driveway. Must
be submitted on an 8 %2” x 11” paper. If blue print, scale down to an 8 2" x 11” paper. Must show entrance door, interior
doors, windows, bathroom fixtures, kitchen appliances, label each room, stairs or door to main house.

4. Sign affidavit for attestation of the continued use of the property as the owner’s primary residence, attestation that the
property will not be occupied by more than two persons 18 years’ age or older. Affidavit does not need to be notarized or
signed in front of our staff.

5. The filing fee, license application fee, and sign fee paid. $125 of license application fee is refundable if Director finds the
property does not meet zoning requirements.

6. Post Class 3 Accessory Apartment public notice sign within 5 days of acceptance on the property in a place visible from each
public road which abuts the property. Sign remains posted for 30 days after issuance of the Director’s report on findings
and returned within 15 days after end of posting period. $110 of the sign fee will be refunded when the sign is returned in
a clean, undamaged, and reusable condition.

7. s this property built before January 1, 1978? If YES, the AA MUST be registered with Maryland Department of the
Environment (MDE) and inspected for lead paint. Maryland law requires that all owners of residential rental property
comply with the State Lead Poisoning Prevention requirements and that proof of compliance be provided to local
government before authorizing a property to be rented. For further information regarding Lead Poisoning Prevention and
compliance, call MDE at 1-800-633-6101 or 410-537-4199. Copies of Lead Inspection Certificates must be provided to our
office with your Class 3 Accessory Apartment application.

8. Contact your homeowners’ association or see your association’s covenants or deed for their rules and regulations
regarding accessory apartments. Any decisions by DHCA will not override the covenants or deed.

Note: If your check is returned unpaid, your account will be debited electronically for the original check amount and electronically or via
paper for the state’s maximum allowable service fee. Payment by check constitutes authorization of these transactions.

Rev (8/17/16)



