Skip Navigation
DHCA logo
>Maryland Office Of People's Counsel
Xoom Energy Maryland, LLC and Customer Refunds
>Maryland Office Of People's Counsel
New Rules for LifeLine Assistance
>MoCo Council Effectively Ends Veterans Homelessness
MoCo Council Effectively Ends Veterans Homelessness
Smoke Alarm Law
English / Spanish (Español)

Rental Housing License Fees

Licensing Fees as of July 1, 2016

FY2017 Invoices for Rental Housing License and Common Ownership Community Registration Renewals are mailed the week of June 27, 2016

  Structure Type Per Unit or Structure
CLASS I Licenses Apartment Complex $41.00
Accessory Apartment $41.00
Personal Living Quarters $41.00
All Others:  Garden Condominium, High-Rise Condominium & Piggy-Back Units $59.00
CLASS II Licenses Single Family Detached House $101.00
Townhouse $101.00
Duplex $101.00
Back to Back Townhouse $101.00
Quadraplex $101.00

CLASS III Licenses Acessory Apartments

Annual License Fee $101.00
Filing Fee (one-time) $250.00
Sign Fee (one-time) $220.00
Total Due with Accessory Apartment Application $571.00
Common Ownership Communities All types of units $5.00 per unit (FY2017 One-Time Payment Option: $3 per unit due by July 31, 2016 and $2 per unit due January 31, 2017)*

Starting July 1, 2016, all refund requests must be made in writing within 90 days of payment and include documentation.from bank institution.

*FY2017 Common Ownershiop Community (COC) Registration Fees increased to $5/unit to cover additional resources including financial, administrative and information technology. To alleviate the impact of the fee increase, COCs have the option to pay the fee in two installments:  the first installment of $3.00/unit will be due July 31, 2016; the second installment of $2.00/unit will be due January 31, 2017.  This is a one-time opportunity.  Looking ahead to FY18, DHCA will provide COC’s with a single $5.00 invoice due July 2017.