

Offices of the County Executive • 101 Monroe Street • Rockville, Maryland 20850

Subject Maximum Rates For Motor Vehicle Towing From Private Property Number 19-23 Effective Date

Originating Department Office of Consumer Protection

	Montgomery County Regulation on:		
MAXIMUM RATES FOR MOTOR VEHICLE TOWING FROM PRIVATE PROPERTY			
OFFICE OF CONSUMER PROTECTION			
	Issued By: County Executive Regulation No. 19-23 COMCOR No. 30C.02.01 Authority: Code Section: 30C-3 Council Review: Method 2 under Code Section 2A-15 Register Vol. 36, Issue 5 Comment Deadline: December 31, 2023 Effective Date: Supersedes: Executive Regulation 19-19		
SUMMARY:	This regulation revises the maximum rates that a trespass towing company may charge when towing a motor vehicle from private property without the consent of the owner.		
ADDRESS:	Copies of the regulation may be obtained from: Office of Consumer Protection 100 Maryland Avenue, Suite 3600 Rockville, MD 20850		
STAFF CONTACT	: Patricia M. Vitale, Administrator (240) 777-3774		
BACKGROUND INFORMATION:	Chapter 30C of the Montgomery County Code regulates the towing of vehicles from private property. Section 30C-3 requires that the County Executive establish by regulation the maximum rates that a towing company or business may charge when towing a motor vehicle from private property without the consent of the owner. This regulation revises those rates and otherwise makes ministerial changes to make the regulation compliant with the law.		



Offices of the County Executive • 101 Monroe Street • Rockville, Maryland 20850

Subject Maximum Rates For Motor Vehicle Towing From Private Property Originating Department Office of Consumer Protection

Effective Date

Number

19-23

COMCOR 30C.02.01 Maximum Rates for Motor Vehicle Towing from Private Property

30C.02.01.01 Definitions

The terms used in the regulation have the same meaning as in Chapter 30C, Montgomery County Code. Each piece of a tractor trailer combination is considered to be a vehicle when a towing company tows both pieces as a unit.

30C.02.01.02 Limitations on Scope

This regulation does not apply to the following:

- (a) towing initiated by the vehicle owner;
- (b) towing approved or requested by a police officer, firefighter, or rescue squad member in the course of duty or under the state law on abandoned vehicles; or
- (c) towing a motor vehicle while repossessing it.

30C.02.01.03 Maximum Towing Rates

When towing a motor vehicle from private property without the consent of the owner, a towing company must not charge more than the following rates:

- (a) for vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating of 8,000 pounds or less:
 - (1) for attaching the vehicle to be towed to the tow truck, towing the vehicle to a storage site and the first 24 hours of storage; including any other service needed to safely remove the vehicle (such as unlocking, disconnecting and reconnecting the driveshaft, securing the steering wheel, dollying, flatbedding, or use of go-jacks) –\$170.00;
 - (2) the receipt that must be furnished to the vehicle owner in accordance with Montgomery County Code Section 30C- 9(e) must list the tow truck's odometer readings when the vehicle is attached and when it reaches the storage site; and
 - (3) for storing the vehicle until it is redeemed \$35.00 for each 24- hour time period, or portion thereof, the vehicle remains in the custody of the towing company, after the first 24- hour time period.



Offices of the County Executive • 101 Monroe Street • Rockville, Maryland 20850

Subject	Number
Maximum Rates For Motor Vehicle Towing From Private Property	19-23
Originating Department	Effective Date
Office of Consumer Protection	

For the purposes of this subsection, a towing company does not have custody of the vehicle until the vehicle actually reaches the storage site. The receipt that must be furnished to the vehicle owner in accordance with Montgomery County Code Section 30C-9(e) must state the date and time when the vehicle reached the storage site, when the police were notified, and when the vehicle was redeemed by its owner.

- (b) for vehicles 8,001 to 20,000 pounds gross vehicle weight rating:
 - (1) for attaching the vehicle to be towed to the tow truck, towing the vehicle to a storage site and the first 24 hours of storage, including any other service needed to safely remove the vehicle \$285.00;
 - (2) the receipt that must be furnished to the vehicle owner in accordance with Montgomery County Code Section 30C-9(e) must list the tow truck's odometer readings when the vehicle is attached and when it reaches the storage site; and
 - (3) for storing the vehicle until it is redeemed \$50.00 for each 24-hour time period, or portion thereof, the vehicle remains in the custody of the towing company after the first 24- hour time period.

For the purposes of this subsection, a towing company does not have custody of the vehicle until the vehicle actually reaches the storage site. The receipt that must be furnished to the vehicle owner in accordance with Montgomery County Code Section 30C-9(e) must state the date and time when the vehicle reached the storage site, when the police were notified, and when the vehicle was redeemed by its owner.

- (c) for vehicles over 20,000 pounds gross vehicle weight rating:
 - (1) for attaching the vehicle to be towed to the tow truck, towing the vehicle to a storage site and the first 24 hours of storage, including any other service needed to safely remove the vehicle - \$570.00;
 - (2) the receipt that must be furnished to the vehicle owner in accordance with Montgomery County Code Section 30C-9(e) must list the tow truck's odometer readings when the vehicle is attached and when it reaches the storage site; and
 - (3) for storing the vehicle until it is redeemed \$100.00 for each 24-hour time period, or portion thereof, the vehicle remains in the custody of the towing company after the first 24- hour time period.



Offices of the County Executive • 101 Monroe Street • Rockville, Maryland 20850

Subject	Number	
Maximum Rates For Motor Vehicle Towing From Private Property	19-23	
Originating Department	Effective Date	
Office of Consumer Protection		

For the purposes of this subsection, a towing company does not have custody of the vehicle until the vehicle actually reaches the storage site. The receipt that must be furnished to the vehicle owner in accordance with Montgomery County Code Section 30C-9(e) must state the date and time when the vehicle reached the storage site, when the police were notified, and when the vehicle was redeemed by its owner.

(d) A towing company must not charge for any act not listed in this section unless that act was expressly requested by the vehicle owner.

30C.02.01.04 Severability

The provisions of this regulation are severable. If a court holds that a provision is invalid or inapplicable, the remainder of the regulation remains in effect.

30C.02.01.04 Effective Date

This regulation takes effect immediately after adoption by the County Council.

Approved:

Marc Elrich, County Executive

Date: February 9, 2024

Approved as to Form and Legality Office of the County Attorney

N.KS By:

Date: November 21, 2023

Page 4 of 4



Offices of the County Executive • 101 Monroe Street • Rockville, Maryland 20850

Subject Maximum Rates For Motor Vehicle Towing From Private Property Number 19-23 Effective Date

Originating Department Office of Consumer Protection

Montgomery County Regulation on:				
MAXIMUM RATES FOR MOTOR VEHICLE TOWING FROM PRIVATE PROPERTY				
OFFICE OF CONSUMER PROTECTION				
	Issued By: County Executive Regulation No. 19-23 COMCOR No. 30C.02.01 Authority: Code Section: 30C-3 Council Review: Method 2 under Code Section 2A-15 Register Vol. 36, Issue 5 Comment Deadline: December 31, 2023 Effective Date: Supersedes: Executive Regulation 19-19			
SUMMARY:	This regulation revises the maximum rates that a trespass towing company may charge when towing a motor vehicle from private property without the consent of the owner.			
ADDRESS:	Copies of the regulation may be obtained from: Office of Consumer Protection 100 Maryland Avenue, Suite 3600 Rockville, MD 20850			
STAFF CONTACT:	Patricia M. Vitale, Administrator (240) 777-3774			
BACKGROUND INFORMATION:	Chapter 30C of the Montgomery County Code regulates the towing of vehicles from private property. Section 30C-3 requires that the County Executive establish by regulation the maximum rates that a towing company or business may charge when towing a motor vehicle from private property without the consent of the owner. This regulation revises those rates and otherwise makes ministerial changes to make the regulation compliant with the law.			



Offices of the County Executive • 101 Monroe Street • Rockville, Maryland 20850

Subject Maximum Rates For Motor Vehicle Towing From Private Property Originating Department Office of Consumer Protection

Effective Date

Number 19-23

COMCOR 30C.02.01 Maximum Rates for Motor Vehicle Towing from Private Property

30C.02.01.01 Definitions

The terms used in the regulation have the same meaning as in Chapter 30C, Montgomery County Code. Each piece of a tractor trailer combination is considered to be a vehicle when a towing company tows both pieces as a unit.

30C.02.01.02 Limitations on Scope

This regulation does not apply to the following:

- (a) [Towing] towing initiated by the vehicle owner;
- (b) [Towing] towing approved or requested by a police officer, firefighter, or rescue squad member in the course of duty or under the state law on abandoned vehicles; or
- (c) [Towing] towing a motor vehicle while repossessing it.

30C.02.01.03 Maximum Towing Rates

When towing a motor vehicle from private property without the consent of the owner, a towing company must not charge more than the following rates:

(a) for vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating of 8,000 pounds or less:

- (1) for attaching the vehicle to be towed to the tow truck, towing the vehicle to a storage site and the first 24 hours of storage; including any other service needed to safely remove the vehicle (such as unlocking, disconnecting and reconnecting the driveshaft, securing the steering wheel, dollying, flatbedding, or use of go-jacks) [\$150.00.] <u>\$170.00;</u>
- (2) [The] <u>the</u> receipt that must be furnished to the vehicle owner in accordance with Montgomery County Code Section 30C- 9(e) must list the tow truck's odometer readings when the vehicle is attached and when it reaches the storage site[.]: <u>and</u>
- (3) for storing the vehicle until it is redeemed [\$30.00] <u>\$35.00</u> for each 24- hour time period, or portion thereof, the vehicle remains in the custody of the towing company, after the first 24- hour time period.



Offices of the County Executive • 101 Monroe Street • Rockville, Maryland 20850

Subject Maximum Rates For Motor Vehicle Towing From Private Property	Number 19-23
Originating Department Office of Consumer Protection	Effective Date

For the purposes of this subsection, a towing company does not have custody of the vehicle until the vehicle actually reaches the storage site. The receipt that must be furnished to the vehicle owner in accordance with Montgomery County Code Section 30C-9(e) must state the date and time when the vehicle reached the storage site, when the police were notified, and when the vehicle was redeemed by its owner.

- (b) for vehicles 8,001 to 20,000 pounds gross vehicle weight rating:
 - (1) for attaching the vehicle to be towed to the tow truck, towing the vehicle to a storage site and the first 24 hours of storage, including any other service needed to safely remove the vehicle [\$250.00] <u>\$285.00</u>;
 - (2) [The] <u>the</u> receipt that must be furnished to the vehicle owner in accordance with Montgomery County Code Section 30C-9(e) must list the tow truck's odometer readings when the vehicle is attached and when it reaches the storage site[.]; and
 - (3) for storing the vehicle until it is redeemed [\$45.00] <u>\$50.00</u> for each 24-hour time period, or portion thereof, the vehicle remains in the custody of the towing company after the first 24- hour time period.

For the purposes of this subsection, a towing company does not have custody of the vehicle until the vehicle actually reaches the storage site. The receipt that must be furnished to the vehicle owner in accordance with Montgomery County Code Section 30C-9(e) must state the date and time when the vehicle reached the storage site, when the police were notified, and when the vehicle was redeemed by its owner.

- (c) for vehicles over 20,000 pounds gross vehicle weight rating:
 - (1) for attaching the vehicle to be towed to the tow truck, towing the vehicle to a storage site and the first 24 hours of storage, including any other service needed to safely remove the vehicle [\$500.00] <u>\$570.00</u>;
 - (2) [The] <u>the</u> receipt that must be furnished to the vehicle owner in accordance with Montgomery County Code Section 30C-9(e) must list the tow truck's odometer readings when the vehicle is attached and when it reaches the storage site[.]; and
 - (3) for storing the vehicle until it is redeemed [\$85.00] <u>\$100.00</u> for each 24-hour time period, or portion thereof, the vehicle remains in the custody of the towing company after the first 24- hour time period.



Offices of the County Executive • 101 Monroe Street • Rockville, Maryland 20850

Subject	Number
Maximum Rates For Motor Vehicle Towing From Private Property	19-23
Originating Department	Effective Date
Office of Consumer Protection	
h	

For the purposes of this subsection, a towing company does not have custody of the vehicle until the vehicle actually reaches the storage site. The receipt that must be furnished to the vehicle owner in accordance with Montgomery County Code Section 30C-9(e) must state the date and time when the vehicle reached the storage site, when the police were notified, and when the vehicle was redeemed by its owner.

(d) A towing company must not charge for any act not listed in this section unless that act was expressly requested by the vehicle owner.

30C.02.01.04 Severability

The provisions of this regulation are severable. If a court holds that a provision is invalid or inapplicable, the remainder of the regulation remains in effect.

30C.02.01.04 Effective Date

This regulation takes effect immediately after adoption by the County Council.

Approved:

Marc Elrich, County Executive

Date: February 9, 2024

Approved as to Form and Legality Office of the County Attorney

By:

Date: November 21, 2023

Page 4 of 4