Skip Navigation
Board, Commission, and Committee

Alcoholic Beverages Advisory Board

Created by: Maryland Code, Article 2B, Section 15-201(c)(7).

Membership: There are five members who shall be appointed and removed by the County Executive with the approval of the County Council. All members shall be residents of Montgomery County, and of the five members, only one shall be a bona fide holder of either a Class B or C beer, wine, and liquor license in Montgomery County and only one shall be a bona fide license holder of any other class license in Montgomery County. The members of the board serve four-year terms with no compensation, but are entitled to necessary expenses in connection with their duties. The Board shall have three ex officio members, including the director of the Department of Liquor Control, the superintendent [chief] of police, and the chairman of the Board of License Commissioners.

Purpose: The Alcoholic Beverages Advisory Board shall report to the County Executive periodically, but at least quarterly, on recommendations for the improvement of the alcoholic beverages control and enforcement activities of the County and of the operations of the dispensary and distribution systems from the standpoint of efficiency, service, and convenience to the public.

Meetings: Regular meetings of the ABAB are open to the public. For more information, please telephone ChrisWilliams at 240-777-1903 or Lynn Duncan at 240-777-1900. Meetings are held at 9:00 a.m. in the conference room of the Board of License Commissioners on the second floor of the Department of Liquor Control warehouse, 16650 Crabbs Branch Way, Rockville (near the intersection with Shady Grove Road).