Skip Navigation



There is a Circuit Court in each county and Baltimore City. The Circuit Courts of Maryland are divided into eight individual geographical Circuits. The Sixth Judicial Circuit is comprised of Montgomery and Frederick Counties. Montgomery County Circuit Court is located at 50 Maryland Avenue, Rockville, Maryland 20850. Montgomery County Circuit Court has 22 judges who are appointed by the Governor and then must stand for election. Judge John W. Debelius III is the County Administrative Judge of Montgomery County Circuit Court and the Administrative Judge for the Sixth Judicial Circuit, which includes Montgomery County and Frederick Counties. The duties of the Circuit and County Administrative Judge fall under Rule 16-101 of the Maryland Rules of Procedure. Judge John W. Debelius III is responsible for the administration of justice and the administration of the Court and the Sixth Judicial Circuit. The Circuit Court is a trial court of general jurisdiction. Its jurisdiction is very broad but generally covers major civil cases and more serious criminal matters. The Circuit Court also may decide appeals from the District Court and certain administrative agencies. If a person is entitled to or elects a trial by jury, the Circuit Court is the only court to do so in Montgomery County.

Montgomery County Circuit Court
50 Maryland Avenue, Rockville, Maryland 20850
Office Hours: Monday through Friday, 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM