Skip Navigation
Top Stories
  • see caption below


    From L to R: Councilmembers Floreen and Riemer; Steve Adleberg of the Jewish Community Relations Council; Joshua Sztorc of JCRC; Councilmember Rice, Ron Halber, the JCRC executive director; Councilmember Katz; Ron Paul, the JCRC Maryland Holocaust Commission chair; Council President Leventhal; Councilmember Berliner; Bernard Lubran, whose father, Walter, was a Holocaust survivor; Sonia Beekman, whose parents were Holocaust survivors; Councilmember Elrich; Debra Linick of JCRC, whose grandfather was a Holocaust survivor; and Councilmembers Hucker and Navarro.

  • see caption below


    To get the latest information on the Fiscal Year 2016 Operating Budget and Fiscal Year 2015-2020 Capital Improvements Program, CLICK HERE.

    The Council may add to, delete from, increase or decrease any appropriation item in the operating or capital budget. The Council must approve the budget and appropriate funding no later than June 1, 2015.

  • see caption below


    Women nationally working full time earn only 77 percent of the earnings of year-round, full-time working men. On March 31, the Montgomery County Council joined in the movement to have employers provide equal pay for all by declaring “Equal Pay Day.” At the ceremonies, left to right, were Councilmember Nancy Floreen; Jeannette Feldner; Councilmember Nancy Navarro and Holly Joseph of the National Organization for Women.

  • see caption below

    IFP Budget Model . . .

    The interactive fiscal plan is a budget model that measures the multi-year effect of alternative revenue and expenditure assumptions on the aggregate (all-agency) County operating budget. The model calculates the cumulative six-year effect of adjusting the assumed average annual rate of change for each major budget variable. The model displays the effect of these alternative assumptions on the sixth fiscal year. Click here to access the model.

  • see caption below


    The achievements of women, who compose 52 percent of Montgomery County’s population and represent nearly half of the workforce, were celebrated by the County Council on March 24. At the ceremonies in Rockville were, left to right: Councilmember Nancy Navarro; Heather Reichardt of the Montgomery County Commission for Women; and Council Vice President Nancy Floreen.

  • see caption below

    Tune In With The Council. . .

    Montgomery County Councilmember Marc Elrich, who chairs the Council’s Public Safety Committee, was featured guest at the latest En Sintonía con el Concejo de Montgomery (Tuned In with the Montgomery County Council), a weekly show on Radio America (WACA 1540 AM).
    Part 1: Body cameras for policeman
    Part 2: Affordable Housing
    Part 3: School infrastructure and overcrowding

  • see caption below


    The Council’s Ad Hoc Committee on Liquor Control is charged with evaluating, reviewing and making recommendations about the County’s Department of Liquor Control and its alcohol distribution to restaurants and beer and wine stores. Committee members include: Hans Riemer, Chair; George Leventhal, Council President; and Marc Elrich, Councilmember.

  • see caption below

    18th County Council . . .

    The 18th County Council of Montgomery County was inaugurated on Dec. 1, 2014. Each member was elected to a four-year term. Seated, left to right: Hans Riemer, Nancy Floreen, George Leventhal and Tom Hucker. Standing: Roger Berliner, Sidney Katz, Nancy Navarro, Craig Rice and Marc Elrich. Photo by Clark W. Day

Council Headlines
Council seal.
Connect With Us Council Calendar Email Council Like Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter View Council on YouTube

Información En Español

Legislative Branch Offices

  Office of the Inspector General  |  Board of Appeals |  Office of Legislative Oversight (OLO)

  Office of Zoning & Administrative Hearings |  Merit System Protection Board |  Charter Review Commission

Helpful Links
  Council Grant Portal
Fiscal Year 2016
Application Portal
IFP Icon
Fiscal Plan
Open Budget
Open Budget
MC 311


Montgomery County Council, 100 Maryland Ave, Rockville MD 20850
Phone: (240) 777-7900 (voice) • (240) 777-7888 (fax) • (MD Relay) Dial 711 or 800-201-7165
Contact the County Council and Legislative Branch Offices