MONTGOMERY COUNTY
EXECUTIVE REGULATION

‘Offices of the County Executive 101 Monroe Street = Rockville, Maryland 20850

Subject Number
Dishonered Check Fees : 5-14

Originating Department Effective Date
Department of Finance

Montgomery County Regulation on
Dishonored Check Fees
Department of Finance

Issued by: County Executive
Regulation No, 5-14
COMCOR No. 20.41.01.01

Authority: Montgomery County Code 2004, §20-41
Supersedes: Executive Regulation 50-92
Council Review: Method 3 under Code Section 2A-15
Register Vol. 31 No. 3

Effective Date:
Comment Deadline: March 30, 2014

Summary: This regulation amends COMCOR 20.41.01 to amend the service charge for dishonored checks
or drafts.

Staff contact: Jeri Cauthorn, 240-777-8861, or Jeri.Cauthorn@montgomerycountymd.gov

Address: Department of Finance, Executive Office Building, 15" Floor

101 Monroe Street, Rockville, Maryland 20850
Background: The service charge has not been amended since 1992. State law authorizes a $35.00 fee and this

regulation will modify the County fee to be consistent with the fee authorized by State law and
atlow the fee to increase if State law changes to allow a larger fee.

COMCOR 26.41.01 Dishonored Check Fees

20.41.01.01

Section 20-41 of the Montgomery County Code 1984, imposes a service charge of ten dolars ($10.00) or
such other reasonable amount as may be established by executive regulation under method (3) of Section
2A-15 of the County Code when any check or draft tendered to the County in payment of any tax, fee,
charge, penalty, interest or fine is dishonored by a bank.
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20.4%.01.02

A service charge in the amount of $[2] 35.00 or such other greater amount as authorized by State law, is
imposed on each dishonored check or draft tendered to the County.

20.41.01.03

The service charge is due on each dishonored check or draft unless otherwise provided in other laws,
resolutions or regulations.

20.41.01.04

The Director of Finance may require that the total amount due, including the service charge, be paid in cash,
certified check or money order,

20.41.01.05 Effective Date

This regulation fakes effect 30 calendar days after the deadline for comments published in the Register.

Isiah Leggett
County Executive

KA1

Office of the County Aftorney/Date
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