Skip to main content

Committee on Hate/Violence

Download Adobe Reader Know Your Rights Brochure

Commitee on Hate ViolenceThe County Executive must appoint members to the Committee on Hate/Violence, subject to confirmation by the County Council. The Committee consists of 15 voting members and six ex-officio, non-voting members. Each voting member must reside in the County. The voting members must broadly reflect the geographic, economic, and social diversity of the County. At least nine voting members should be identified with ethnic or other groups frequently subjected to acts of hate/violence in the County. At least two voting members should be parents of school-age children. At least one voting member should be identified with the County business community. The County Council, Office of the County Executive, Department of Police, Office of Human Rights, Montgomery County Public Schools, and Montgomery College, should each designate a representative to serve as an ex-officio non-voting member of the Committee. Each voting member serves a three-year term. A voting member must not serve more than two consecutive full terms. A member appointed to fill a vacancy serves the rest of the term. Members continue in office until their successors are appointed and qualified. Voting members receive no compensation for their services.
The duties of the Hate/Violence Committee are to develop and distribute information about hate/violence, promote educational activities that demonstrate the positive value of ethnic and social diversity; advise the County Council, the County Executive, and County agencies about hate/violence in the County, and recommend such policies, programs, legislation, or regulations as it finds necessary to reduce the incidences of acts of hate/violence.

Committee on Hate Violence Meeting Dates

COHV meetings are held on the second Wednesday of each month. The meetings generally commence at 7:00 p.m. and adjourn at 9:00 p.m. Committee members are sent an agenda along with the minutes from the priot month's meeting. In addition to the monthly meeting a retreat is held each year. The retreat for 2017 will likely be scheduled for August. See meeting calendar here.

2017 Office Bearers for the Committee on Hate Violence (terms starting Feb 2016)
Lorraine Lee, Chair
Lisa Taylor, Secretary
Amit Kumar
Anissa Perez
Brenda Smallwood
Dr. Dana Beyer
Devin Brakob
Maria Herrera
Mona Negm
Sudi Tasissa

Non-Voting Members
Jean C. Arthur, County Council
Michael Prather, Police Department
Michelle Scott, Montgomery College
Dr. Gregory Bell, Montgomery County Public Schools
James L. Stowe, Montgomery County Office of Human Rights
Terry Vann, Human Rights Commission Representative
Mansfield M. Kaseman, County Executive’s Office

Staff Support
Anis Ahmed, Montgomery County Office of Human Rights
Loretta Garcia, Montgomery County Office of Human Rights


Attorney General Loretta LynchAttorney General Lynch’s Video Statement on Hate Crimes
Attorney General Loretta E. Lynch released a video statement today on the FBI’s newly announced 2015 Hate Crime Statistics as well as on recent media reports of alleged hate crimes and harassment around the country. The statement reminds individuals to report these incidents to both local law enforcement and the Justice Department in order to ensure that career investigators and prosecutors are able to enforce hate crime statutes at the local, state and federal level. See video here.

Brian Frosh, Maryland Attorney General Launches Hate Crime Hotline
After increased reports of hate speech in the state, Maryland's Attorney General Brian Frosh on Thursday launched a hotline for victims to report the crimes. Frosh said in a statement that "Maryland is not immune" to a national "outbreak" of hate incidents targeting racial minorities, Muslims, Jews, immigrants and LGBT people. The state's top law enforcement officer encouraged victims to report it to local law enforcement, and said calls made to his office on the hotline (1-866-481-8361) would be referred to local officials. Frosh on Monday said there was an "upwelling" in reports of intolerant conduct and he wanted to reiterate such incidents can be criminal. Read more.

MCPD Cheif Tom Manager's Message to CommunityMCPD Chief Tom Manger's Message to Community on Hate Incidents
Chief Tom Manger-Message on Hate Incidents
Montgomery County Police Chief Tom Manger has a message to the community regarding hate incidents.  
To watch video, click on image.

  Statement by Montgomery County Executive Ike Leggett & The Montgomery County Council on Deportation Threats Against County Residents, January 11, 2016. Our nation faces a significant humanitarian challenge in how we deal with the thousands of children and families fleeing violence in Central America. Current conditions in El Salvador, Guatemala, and Honduras merit granting special temporary protection to these children and parents who have legitimate reason to fear for their lives if returned to their countries. Read complete statement  here.

Montgomery County Committee on Hate/Violence and Montgomery County Office of Human Rights presents Bullying in Schools: A Community Symposium on Prevention and Intervention Strategies. This event was held Saturday, March 29, 2014 at the Montgomery College Takoma Park/Silver Spring Campus. See photos from this event here . Resources for Bullying Prevention. Learn more here:

Bullying Awareness Guidebook is produced by the Accredited Schools Online: This guide brings awareness to numerous types of bullying and who may be targeted, while also providing guidance to students, parents, educators and school professionals on how to prevent and stop this debilitating public aggression. Special attention is given to cyberbullying, an ever-growing issue for today’s generation.

Montgomery County Council President Valerie Ervin presented a proclamation in recognition of National Bullying Prevention Month. “Bullying Prevention Month- Bullying among children and teenagers has often been dismissed as a normal part of growing up. Little attention has been paid to the devastating effects of bullying, or to the connection between bullying and other forms of violence. Students and adults around the country have made a commitment to stop bullying in their schools and communities. Everyone in every community need to be empowered with options to effectively respond to bullying.” See video here.

Committee on Hate/Violence Correspondence
Open Letter to the People of Charleston, South Carolina



Montgomery County Office of Human Rights · 21 Maryland Avenue, Suite 330 · Rockville, Maryland 20850
Telephone: 240.777.8450 · Fax: 240.777.8460 · MD Relay: 7-1-1

Go Top