
Maryland
Child Passenger
Safety Law Effective October 1, 2022

Every child:

Under 8 years old must ride in a car seat or booster seat, used

according to car seat and vehicle manufacturers' instructions, unless

the child is 4 feet, 9 inches or taller.

Under 2 years old must ride rear-facing.

Between 8 and 16 years old must be secured in a car seat, booster

seat, or vehicle seat belt.

Remember!

Children under 13 years old are safest in the back seat!

Questions About Car Seats?

Contact Maryland Kids In Safety Seats (KISS)
1-800-370-SEAT or (410) 767-6016

mdh.kiss@maryland.org

www.mdkiss.org


