Skip Navigation
Office of Legislative Oversight

Mission

The mission of the Office of Legislative Oversight (OLO) is to provide accurate information, analysis, and independent findings and recommendations that help the County Council fulfill its legislative oversight function.  Legislative oversight is the process by which a legislative body monitors the performance of publicly-funded activities and applies this knowledge to its primary functions of enacting laws, establishing public policy, approving budgets, and raising revenues.

Annual Work Program

OLO staff conduct program evaluations, budget analyses, audits, investigations, and other special studies.  OLO receives it assignments from the nine elected members of the County Council, which annually adopt a Council Resolution that sets forth the Work Program for the office.  For each assignment, OLO prepares a written report that provides information.

Legal Basis

In 1975, the County Council enacted legislation (Bill 25-75) to establish the Office of Legislative Oversight (OLO). The legislation, which outlines the powers, duties, and general practices of the office, is codified as County Code Chapter 29A. Consistent with County law, the OLO Director is a non-merit appointee of the County Council. The Director is appointed to a four-year term that begins in the second year of each four-year Council term.

Staffing

OLO can be reached at OLO@montgomerycountymd.gov

OLO's staffing consists of:

OLO Staff Email
Chris Cihlar, Ph.D., Director chris.cihlar@montgomerycountymd.gov
Elaine Bonner-Tompkins,Ph.D., Senior Legislative Analyst elaine.bonner-tompkins@montgomerycountymd.gov
Carl Scruggs, Research Associate carl.scruggs@montgomerycountymd.gov
Natalia Carrizosa, Legislative Analyst natalia.carrizosa@montgomerycountymd.gov
Craig Howard, Senior Legislative Analyst craig.howard@montgomerycountymd.gov
Kristen Latham, Legislative Analyst kristen.latham@montgomerycountymd.gov
Sue Richards, Senior Legislative Analyst sue.richards@montgomerycountymd.gov
Kelli Robinson, Administrative Specialist kelli.robinson@montgomerycountymd.gov
Leslie Rubin, Senior Legislative Analyst leslie.rubin@montgomerycountymd.gov
Aron Trombka, Senior Legislative Analyst aron.trombka@montgomerycountymd.gov
Stephanie Bryant, Legislative Analyst Stephanie.bryant@montgomerycountymd.gov

Interactive Fiscal Plan


Interactive Fiscal Plan Tool

Before using the model, please read the Introduction and Quick Guide. For a detailed explanation on how the model works, see the Step-by-Step Instructions.

The County Council annually approves a Fiscal Plan that projects operating budget revenue and expenditure for the upcoming six fiscal years. The “Interactive Fiscal Plan” allows users to input alternative assumptions into the Fiscal Plan in order to better understand the relationship among budget elements and to explore alternative approaches to balancing the budget.

The current version of the model is for the Fiscal Year 2015-2020 Approved Fiscal Plan with December 2014 updated revenue projections.

With your help, we hope to test the functionality and usefulness of the model. Please send comments to: Office Of Legislative Oversight

 

 


 


Office of Legislative Oversight, 100 Maryland Ave, 5th Floor, Rockville MD 20850
Phone: (240) 777-7990 (voice)  Email: OLO@montgomerycountymd.gov
Contact the County Council and Legislative Branch Offices