Montgomery County Planning Board

Overview of the Montgomery County Planning Board

The five-member Montgomery County Planning Board, which is part of the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission, works to maintain and improve the quality of life in our community. The Planning Board acts on issues such as growth, transportation, environmental protection, agriculture, historical preservation and forest conservation. Additionally, the Planning Board is largely responsible for land use and protecting parkland resources throughout our 323,000-acre County.

More specifically, the Planning Board:

  • Considers large- and small-scale plans for new development;
  • Provides guidelines for the pattern and pace of future development;
  • Produces master and sector plans for consideration by the Montgomery County Council;
  • Develops and manages Montgomery County's nationally recognized 32,900-acre park system; and
  • Recommends which sites receive historic designations to the Council.

The Planning Board usually meets each Thursday in the auditorium at 2425 Reedie Drive in Wheaton.

Update on the Planning Board

On Feb. 28, 2023, the Montgomery County Council appointed Shawn Bartley, Mitra Pedoeem and James Hedrick to the Montgomery County Planning Board to replace three temporary Planning Board members which included Cherri Branson, David Hill and Amy Presley.

The three newly appointed Planning Board members will serve the remainder of the three existing terms as follows: Bartley will serve as the Republican member until June 14, 2024; Pedoeem will serve as the unaffiliated member until June 14, 2025; and Hedrick will serve as the Democratic member until June 14, 2026. These members may also reapply to serve on the Planning Board, once their terms end.

The two remaining temporary Planning Board positions, including the Planning Board chair, are scheduled to be filled in June 2023. Public notice advertising these positions was issued on March 13, 2023, and the deadline for applications is Monday, April 3 at 5 p.m. Learn more about how to apply here.