

## **Montgomery County**

Department of Environmental Protection Energy, Climate and Compliance Division 2425 Reedie Dr., 4<sup>th</sup> Floor, Wheaton, MD 20902



## Ceremonial Burning General Permit

This permit is issued pursuant to Montgomery County Code Chapter 3 and the Code of Maryland Regulations 26.11.07

Permit Effective Date: November 30, 2024 Permit Expiration Date: December 8, 2024

Permit Number: 20242657

This permit authorizes: Two bonfire rings that exceed 3 feet in diameter on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday nights from November 30, 2024, to December 8, 2024. On all other days, only recreational fires under three feet in diameter are allowed.

Responsible Party: Paul Brubacher, CALLEVA Inc. Address: 19120 Martinsburg R., Dickerson, MD, 20842 Organization: Calleva, Inc. (Christmas at Calleva Farm)

To conduct ceremonial burns as described herein at the following location: 19120 Martinsburg Rd,

**Dickerson, Maryland (03-03228893)** 

## This permit is subject to the following conditions:

- 1. It is prohibited to use accelerants or burn any of the following materials: ordinary household waste, construction and demolition debris, barnyard refuse, treated lumber, scrap lumber, and materials which produce dense smoke when burned, including but not limited to tires and roofing materials.
- 2. The burn should not be conducted when winds exceed 12 mph or when there is an air pollution episode, or when there is a forecasted or actual Air Quality Index (AQI) of 101 or greater (Code Orange Air Quality and above). Real time air quality and air quality forecast for the following day can be found at the Metropolitan Washington Council of Government's website at: <a href="http://www.mwcog.org/environment/air/forecast/">http://www.mwcog.org/environment/air/forecast/</a>
- The burn must not cause a hazardous condition or air pollution nuisance. Fires must not create visible
  emissions whose opacity exceeds 20 percent for more than a total of 3 minutes in any consecutive 60minute period.
- 4. Burning may not be done within 500 yards (1,500 feet) of an occupied dwelling, or heavily traveled public roadway, walkway, path, or other facility used by the public.
- 5. A fire supervisor, 18 years of age or older, must always be within direct view of the fire and must have a copy of the permit with them.
- 6. When burning is in progress, this permit and fire extinguishing equipment, including water sufficient in quantity to extinguish the fire, must be readily available on site.
- 7. Designated representatives of the Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) shall be granted access to the property at reasonable times for the purpose of determining compliance with this permit.
- 8. Prior to ignition of the fire, you must call 311 within Montgomery County (or 240-777-0311 outside the County), and Montgomery County Fire and Rescue Services at 240-683-6520, and provide notification on the day you will be burning.
- 9. Fire control laws or regulations of other government agencies must not be violated.

Violations of any condition of this permit or any laws or regulations will constitute cause for revocation of this permit and fines of \$500 per violation, per day may be imposed.