

## **Montgomery County**

Department of Environmental Protection Energy, Climate and Compliance Division 2425 Reedie Dr, 4<sup>th</sup> Floor, Wheaton, MD 20902



## Agricultural Burning General Permit

This permit is issued pursuant to Montgomery County Code Chapter 3 and the Code of Maryland Regulations 26.11.0

Permit Effective Date: January 3, 2025 Permit Expiration Date: February 1, 2025

ECCD Case #20242687

This permit authorizes:

Name: Michele and Michael Morris

Address: 8501 Garfield Dr

Gaithersburg, MD 20882 Cell (301) 674-5504

To burn agricultural debris as described herein at the following location:

The property known as "Owens Conclusion 48185" with Maryland Department of Assessments and Taxation with an identification number of District 12 Account Number 00943577. The property is accessed at the end of Garfield Dr. The burn pile is on the east side of the property.

This permit is subject to the following conditions:

- 1. Burning is prohibited during the period from June 1, through August 31 of each year.
- Material to be burned shall have originated on the property known as 8501 Garfield Dr on which it is to be burned and must be
  agricultural debris which is directly related to qualified agricultural operations in growing crops or raising fowl or animals or in
  accepted forestry practices. Downed trees in pasture or crop areas and vegetative materials cleared from fence rows may
  also be burned
- 3. The following materials are prohibited to burn: ordinary household waste, construction or demolition debris, barnyard refuse, lumber, and materials which produce dense smoke when burned, including, but not limited to tires and roofing materials.
- 4. Prior to ignition of the fire, you must call 311 within Montgomery County (or 240-777-0311 outside the County), and Montgomery County Fire and Rescue Services at 240-683-6520, and provide notification on the day you will be burning.
- The burn must not cause a hazardous condition or air pollution nuisance.
- 6. Burning may not be done within 500 yards (1,500 feet) of one or more occupied buildings, or heavily traveled public roadways.
- 7. A fire supervisor, 18 years of age or older, must be within direct view of the fire at all times.
- 8. When burning is in progress, this permit and fire extinguishing equipment, including water in sufficient quantity to extinguish the fire, must be readily available on site.
- 9. Designated representatives of the Department of Environmental Protection shall be granted access to the property at reasonable times for the purpose of determining compliance with this permit.
- 10. No fires may be started prior to 7:00 a.m. nor may materials be added to the fires after 4:30 p.m.
- 11. There may be no burning on weekends or holidays recognized by the Montgomery County Government unless specifically authorized by Montgomery County Department of Environmental Protection.
- 12. Fire control laws or regulations of other governmental agencies must not be violated.
- 13. You may not burn if winds are forecasted to be greater than 12 mph for your ZIP Code area as reported by the NOAA National Weather Service Forecast at <a href="http://www.nws.noaa.gov/">http://www.nws.noaa.gov/</a>.
- 14. You may not burn when the Governor or the Secretary of the Maryland Department of the Environment declares an air pollution episode.
- 15. You may not burn when NOAA declares a "red flag" warning. "A red flag warning means that critical fire weather conditions are either occurring now or will shortly. A combination of strong winds, low relative humidity, and warm temperatures will create explosive fire growth potential." Weather information may be found at: <a href="http://www.nws.noaa.gov/">http://www.nws.noaa.gov/</a>.
- 16. You may not burn during a temperature inversion, when the ground temperature is lower than the air mass above it. Fog is an indication of a temperature inversion. The burn may not occur when fog is forecasted or present. Weather information may be found at: http://www.nws.noaa.gov/.

If weather conditions change during the burn, you are required to act to mitigate the nuisance conditions.

Violations of any condition of this permit or any laws or regulations will constitute cause for revocation of this permit and fines of \$500 per violation, per day may be imposed.