
  

April 2016 

Community Name License No. If Yes, Which Formula
(see back) 

Are tenant’s billed individually 
for water/sewer costs? 

_________________________ __________ 
_________________________ __________ 
_________________________ __________ 
_________________________ __________ 
_________________________ __________ 
_________________________ __________ 
_________________________ __________ 
_________________________ __________ 
_________________________ __________ 

 

OWNER/AGENT SIGNATURE   
I affirm under penalty of perjury that the above information is true to the best of my knowledge and belief.  I also 
understand that if there are any changes in information that I must notify the Department within 10 days of the change. 

   X 
Signature Date 

Print or Type Name of Person Signing 
Please assure that you: 

 Include information for each property owned/managed.  
 Indicate if tenants are responsible for water/sewer charges. 
 Indicate formula for calculating bills (explanation of permitted formulas on reverse). 
 Include (only when using formula #3), a detailed explanation of proposed formula to be used. 
 Sign the survey form. 

Montgomery County Department of Housing and Community Affairs 
Division of Housing * Licensing and Registration Unit 
100 Maryland Avenue, Rockville, Maryland 20850  
240-777-0311  FAX 240-777-3699  http://montgomerycountymd.gov/dhcalicensing

Multi-Family Apartment Complex  

Ratio Utility Billing System Survey

Name 
Company 
Address 
City, State Zip 
Phone(s) 
Email 

OFFICE USE ONLY 

Date Recorded _________ 

By ___________________  

Montgomery County Landlord-Tenant Relations - Regulation 29, establish a comprehensive regulatory 
system to assure that the practices used by landlords to allocate water and sewer (wastewater) costs to 
tenants are just and reasonable and include appropriate safeguards for tenants, and are in compliance with 
Section 29-30(a)(6), “Landlord-Tenant Relations,” of the Montgomery County Code, 2001, as amended 
(“County Code”).  

All landlords intending to use a Ratio Utility Billing System (RUBS) must complete this form to register with 
the Department of Housing and Community Affairs and receive approval from the Department at least 60 
days prior to implementing RUBS in the apartment community. 

RENTAL PROPERTY INFORMATION: 



April 2016 

Instructions for completing the RUBS Registration Form: 

PLEASE NOTE: 
 This form must be completed by apply all Montgomery County apartment complexes that bill tenants for

water and sewer utility service on an allocated basis, referred to as a “Ratio Utility Billing System”
(“RUBS”) at least 60 days prior to implementing RUBS.

 Ratio Utility Billing System – refers to the system under which the cost of water and/or sewer utility
service that is master metered to a landlord by WSSC, is allocated to tenants by the landlord through
the use of a formula that estimates the water and sewer use of each rental unit in the apartment
complex.

 Charges billed to tenants under a Ratio Utility Billing System must only include bills for water and sewer
utility service from WSSC, and must not include any other fees billed to the landlord by WSSC such as
deposits, disconnect or reconnect fees, late payments, or other similar fees.

Calculations for Allocated Utility Service: 
Common Area Calculation   
Before a landlord may allocate the WSSC master meter bill for water and sewer service to the tenants, the 
landlord must first deduct common area usage such as installed landscape irrigation systems, pools and 
laundry rooms, if any, as follows: 

1. if all common areas are separately metered or sub metered deduct the actual common area usage;

2. if common areas are not separately metered or sub metered, the landlord must deduct from the total
amount of the bill, seasonal common area usage for the billing period as follows:

a. 15 percent for an installed landscape irrigation system;

b. 10 percent for laundry room(s);

c. 10 percent for a swimming pool and for each other amenity that uses water.

Formulas (1, 2 or 3) for Calculating Tenants’ Bills.   
To calculate a tenant’s bill, the landlord must divide the amount of the WSSC bill, less the common area 
usage, by the total number of occupants in all rental units at the beginning of the month of WSSC’s billing 
period, and multiply that number by: 

1. the number of occupants in the tenant’s rental unit at the beginning of the month for which bills are
being rendered; or,

2. the ratio occupancy formula below which assigns a fractional portion per occupant and which is
determined by the number of occupants in a rental unit at the beginning of the month for which bills are
being rendered:

a. rental unit with one occupant = 1

b. rental unit with two occupants = 1.6

c. rental unit with three occupants = 2.2

d. rental unit with more than three occupants = 2.2 + 0.4 per each additional occupant over three

3. Any other formula that is presented by a landlord and approved by the Department in advance.  The
landlord has the burden of proving to the Department that the proposed formula fairly and accurately
allocates water and sewer usage among tenants.  The Department has 30 days from the date it
receives the landlord’s proposed formula to make a determination whether to approve or deny use of
the formula.  If the Department denies use of a proposed formula, the Department must send written
notice to the landlord with reasons for the denial.  At the same time that a landlord presents a proposed
formula to the Department, the landlord must notify all tenants in the property by first class mail that an
alternate RUBS formula has been proposed to the Department, that the Department has 30 days to
approve or deny use of the formula, and that the tenants have the right to submit comments regarding
the proposed formula to the Director of the Department during the 30-day review period.
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