DHCA Cares
‚Äč

To reach a DHCA staff person, you can


Call 311 and ask to speak to someone from DHCA (dial 1-240-777-0311 if calling from a non-local number); or,

Send us an e-mail (or submit an online service request):

Staff from DHCA programs, including Housing Code Enforcement, will respond by phone or e-mail to every request, to assess the situation, consider ways to address it and explain the timing of any further actions. Please be aware that some actions/inspections/investigations may not be immediately forthcoming based on the nature and severity of the issue.

To send documents to DHCA


Send materials and documents to DHCA by e-mail, or if necessary, by mail – no drop offs, as DHCA offices are closed to visitors. DHCA will open and respond to mail as timely as possible.

Information for Homeowners and Common Ownership Communitues


Homeowners who rent to tenants are prohibited from increasing existing rents by more than 2.6% during the emergency and from issuing rent increase notices of more than 2.6% during the emergency and for 90 days after.

Temporary Protection From Foreclosure

The vast majority of mortgage loans are owned by HUD-FHA, Fannie Mae/Freddie Mac, and VA, which are offering some protections during this time. Each recommends that homeowners having difficulty paying their mortgage during the Coronavirus pandemic contact their mortgage service provider (the company where you send your monthly payments). By reaching out, you can discuss your situation and explore options. For more information, click on the guidance offered by each:

Court Limits on Foreclosures

This Maryland court administrative order, effective March 18, 2020, halted action on residential foreclosures and residential evictions. As stated, the order will be revised as circumstances warrant.

Information for Common Ownership Communities

COC Property Management Guidelines and Issues related to COVID-19 crisis

Pools and Spas - COVID-19 Guidance

Applying for Benefits - Unemployment, Food, etc.

Information for renters


Eviction Process and Renters Working with Landlords

Renters: If you are behind on your rent, it is important to that you contact your landlord to discuss possible arrangements for payments. This is especially important as Maryland Courts are lifting the stay on evictions starting July 25 and tenants need to understand options for avoiding eviction.

To learn how you can get help in understanding your rights and your options, visit Eviction Process & Renters Working with Landlords.

Renter Issues Related to COVID-19 Crisis - Frequently Asked Questions

Find answers to commonly asked questions at Renter Issues Related to COVID-19 Crisis.

Ways to Get Help

For information on financial assistance, food resources, housing, health, utilities, visit Get Help.

Landlords are prohibited from increasing existing rents by more than 2.6%

The COVID-19 Renter Relief Act (the Act), effective April 24, 2020, prohibits landlords from increasing existing tenants’ rent by more than 2.6% after April 24 and during the COVID-19 catastrophic health emergency signed by the Governor on March 5 or notifying tenants of a rent increase of more than 2.6% during the COVID-19 emergency and for 90 days after the emergency ends. For more information, see the Summary of COVID-19 Renter Relief Act or Frequently Asked Questions in Renter issues related to COVID-19 Crisis.

Temporary Protections from Eviction

Health, Safety and Tenant Information for Residents of Multifamily/Apartment Buildings

  • Guidance for Multifamily Building Residents:   -  -  -  -  -  -
  • CDC Cleaning and Disinfecting Your Facility
  • Stop the Spread of Germs:  Amharic - Chinese (simplified) - English - FrenchKorean - Spanish - Vietnamese
  • Flyers on Social Distancing:  Amharic - Chinese (simplified) - EnglishFrench - Spanish - Vietnamese

Note: Landlords of multifamily buildings are required to post in common areas: “CDC Cleaning and Disinfecting Your Facility,” “Guidance for Multifamily Building Residents,” and, “Tenants' Rights: Rent Payments and Eviction Process.”  In multifamily common ownership community buildings, “CDC Cleaning and Disinfecting Your Facility” must be posted in common areas. If you don’t yet see them posted in your building, call 311 (240-777-0311).

Landlords are Required to Provide Air Conditioning in Apartment Buildings and Townhouses

Renters Tax Credit

Renters may qualify for a tax credit (a check of up to $1,000). To apply, visit the Renters Tax Credit application website to determine eligibility and submit your application online or by mail. Applications must be submitted by September 1, 2020. Qualified renters will also be automatically enrolled to receive a 50% matching Montgomery County tax credit that will be mailed by the end of March 2021.

Landlord-Tenant Handbook

The Handbook describes the rights and responsibilities of landlords and tenants in Montgomery County. Residents with questions or concerns also are invited to contact the County’s Office of Landlord-Tenant Affairs directly by calling 311 (240-777-0311); submitting an online request; or, emailing olta.intake@montgomerycountymd.gov.

Changes in Housing Code Enforcement

UPDATE: August 6, 2020

Limited Inspections will resume for Foster Care & Adoption and Accessory Dwelling Units (ADU) with additional safety measures being taken to include the following:

  • Only one person from the household or a management representative is to accompany the assigned Inspector during the scheduled inspection. 
  • All parties must use face coverings during the inspection at all times.
  • Social distancing must be maintained during the inspection process.
  • The person accompanying inspection staff will operate all doors and windows, turn on and off lights, operate equipment and test smoke alarms and CO detectors.
  • If further conversations are needed to take place before or after the inspection, these discussions will be done outdoors with social distancing and face masks.

These temporary Inspection procedures will be adjusted as the County moves into additional phases of Reopening Montgomery County and with advisement from County health officials.

DHCA will continue to review and assess housing code complaints. Please call DHCA, via MC311, at 311 (or 240-777-0311) to submit service requests.

Information for landlords


Eviction Process & Landlords Working With Renters

To support landlords and tenants, Montgomery County has an initiative underway to:

  • Help renters understand changes underway in the courts in the context of their continuing obligations to make rent payments; 
  • Encourage renters who are behind on their rent to contact their landlord to discuss their situation and possible payment arrangements; and,
  • Help renters understand resources available to assist them in working with their landlord to maintain their housing.

Eviction Process & Renters Working with Landlords provides this information to tenants and will be updated as additional information and resources become available.

Required and Optional Documents for Posting in Multifamily Buildings

Landlord Issues Related to COVID-19 Crisis - Frequenlty Asked Questions

Changes in Housing Code Enforcement

UPDATE: August 6, 2020

Limited Inspections will resume for Foster Care & Adoption and Accessory Dwelling Units (ADU) with additional safety measures being taken to include the following:

  • Only one person from the household or a management representative is to accompany the assigned Inspector during the scheduled inspection. 
  • All parties must use face coverings during the inspection at all times.
  • Social distancing must be maintained during the inspection process.
  • The person accompanying inspection staff will operate all doors and windows, turn on and off lights, operate equipment and test smoke alarms and CO detectors.
  • If further conversations are needed to take place before or after the inspection, these discussions will be done outdoors with social distancing and face masks.

These temporary Inspection procedures will be adjusted as the County moves into additional phases of Reopening Montgomery County and with advisement from County health officials.

DHCA will continue to review and assess housing code complaints. Please call DHCA, via MC311, at 311 (or 240-777-0311) to submit service requests.

Landlords are prohibited from increasing existing rents by more than 2.6%

Pools and Spas - COVID-19 Guidance

Landlord Link - The Commission on Landlord-Tenant Affairs

Landlords are Required to Provide Air Conditioning in Apartment Buildings and Townhouses

Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) for Residential Buildings

CDC guidance on cleaning and disinfecting

National Multifamily Housing Council - Coronavirus Resources for Apartment Firms.

Emergency benefits and support


Resources for Vulnerable Populations in Maryland during the COVID-19 Response

Housing Stabilization Services

Housing Opportunities Commission – Rental Programs

Financial Assistance/Housing

Utility Assistance Program

Changes in Housing Code Enforcement


UPDATE: August 6, 2020

Limited Inspections will resume for Foster Care & Adoption and Accessory Dwelling Units (ADU) with additional safety measures being taken to include the following:

  • Only one person from the household or a management representative is to accompany the assigned Inspector during the scheduled inspection. 
  • All parties must use face coverings during the inspection at all times.
  • Social distancing must be maintained during the inspection process.
  • The person accompanying inspection staff will operate all doors and windows, turn on and off lights, operate equipment and test smoke alarms and CO detectors.
  • If further conversations are needed to take place before or after the inspection, these discussions will be done outdoors with social distancing and face masks.

These temporary Inspection procedures will be adjusted as the County moves into additional phases of Reopening Montgomery County and with advisement from County health officials.

DHCA will continue to review and assess housing code complaints. Please call DHCA, via MC311, at 311 (or 240-777-0311) to submit service requests.