‚ÄčLead Paint Image

Lead Paint Compliance

Maryland’s Reduction of Lead Risk in Housing law requires owners of rental properties built before 1978 to register their units with Maryland Department of the Environment (MDE), distribute specific educational materials, and meet specific lead poisoning risk reduction standards at certain triggering events. Before issuing or renewing a Rental Housing License, Montgomery County Licensing and Registration must receive verification that the property owner has complied with the MDE Lead Poisoning requirements.


The 2022 Annual Lead Poisoning Prevention Checklist is due by May 23. Landlords and property managers, with emails on file, will receive an email with a unique link. If you do not see the email, please check your junk/spam folder or contact dhca.licensing@montgomerycountymd.gov.

Rental properties built before 1978 will need to:
1

Receive a Lead Paint Certificate

Have Maryland Department of Environment (MDE) Accredited Inspection and receive Lead Paint Certificate (MDE Form 330)

2

Register Annually With MDE

  1. Register annually with MDE and receive a Tracking Number assigned to the property owner (not property)
  2. Does not apply to holders of Lead Free Certificate or Current (unexpired) Limited Lead Free Certificate
3

Complete Annual Lead Poisoning Prevention Checklist

Start online checklist form
 

In the checklist, you will:

  1. Enter license number and email address associated with the license account
  2. Enter one time passcode
  3. Complete checklist, and attach Lead Paint Certificate
  4. Confirm and submit
4

Distribute Specific Lead Poisoning Prevention Educational Materials to Tenants

Categories of Lead Poisioning Certificates:

 
Lead Free Certificate
 
  • Free of lead-based paint on inside and outside.
  • Exempt from annual registration, only 1 time $10 fee for certificate
 
Limited Lead Free Certificate
 
  • Free of lead-based paint on inside but lead on outside
  • Re-inspected every 2 years prior to expiration date
  • Exempt from annual registration, only 1 time $10 fee for certificate
 
Full Risk Reduction Certificate
 
  • No chipping, peeling or flaking paint
  • Must be registered and pay renewal fees annually
  • Re-inspected every change in tenant occupancy
 
Modified Risk Reduction Certificate
 
  • Usually inspected in occupied property or unit
  • Must be registered and pay renewal fees annually
  • Re-inspected every change in tenant occupancy

 


For more information:

Contact Maryland Department of Environment (MDE) Lead Poisoning Prevention Program at (800) 633-6101 ext.3825 / (410) 537-3825 or visit the following MDE links:

Contact Licensing and Registration to verify rental property's Lead Poisoning compliance at (240) 777-0311.