

# Intellectual and Developmental Disability Commission-

## **May Meeting Minutes**

**Date:** May 16th, 2024 **Time:** 4:25pm-7pm

**Location:** \*\*Zoom\*\*

#### **Guest Speakers:**

None.

#### Call to Order:

• Chair called the meeting to order at 4:30 PM.

#### **Discussions:**

## 1. Sensory-Friendly Initiative:

o Discussed considering sensory-friendly initiative as a potential interest.

#### 2. Slate of Nominees:

- o Chair introduced the slate of nominees:
  - Commissioner Steve Riley for Chair
  - Jamie Doyle for Vice Chair
  - Natori Green for Secretary
- Chair discussed withdrawing his own name and endorsing Steve Riley. He
  reflected on his leadership experience, expressing pleasure and gratitude for
  starting the commission and noting it was an enjoyable experience.

## 3. Nominee Speeches:

- Commissioner Steve Riley:
  - Discussed his desire to continue the commission's work.
  - Shared his personal experience as a parent of a young woman with intellectual and developmental disabilities.
  - Highlighted his understanding of the challenges faced by parents with children with IDD with obtaining quality services and his leadership role in the nonprofit Potomac Community Resources.

## Commissioner Jamie Doyle:

- Spoke about her potential role as Vice Chair.
- Shared her experiences as a mother of a child with autism attending Darnestown Elementary School.

- Discussed her professional work monitoring research related to Down syndrome and involvement in advocating against the dismantling of the Darnestown Elementary School special education services.
- Mentioned her focus on finding meaningful employment and improving access to resources.

#### Commissioner Natori Green:

- Expressed her interest in being elected as Secretary.
- Highlighted her skills of being observant and striving to learn.
- Emphasized that she would ensure detailed and summarized minutes.
- Discussed her leadership experience with a Special Ed group and her ability to manage time effectively.

## 4. Current Leadership Reflections:

 Current Vice Chair John Whittle and Secretary Jake Didinsky expressed looking forward to new leadership. Both gave closing remarks.

#### 5. New Officers Process:

 Chair discussed updating the commission on the new officers' appointment via the county process.

## 6. Summer Meetings:

- Chair proposed holding meetings over the summer, acknowledging that most commissions do not meet during this time but suggesting that the IDDC continue its work.
- o Clarified that attendance would not be mandatory or count against the commission members. Encouraged participatation for quorum purposes.

#### 7. Current Priorities:

 Chair reviewed the current priorities: 1.0 FTE full-time liaison Raising awareness for social activities with individuals with IDD Roadmap of Resources Website modernization and redesign Creating a county-wide sensory-friendly culture

### 8. Subcommittee Reports:

 Each subcommittee (Special Education, Community Engagement, Hospitalization, DSP & Workforce, Employment, and Promoting Quality Services) had the opportunity to speak about potential priorities.

## **Action Items:**

- Subcommittees will present their priority proposal next meeting.
- Commissioners will vote in the officers officially.

VOTING MEMBERS  C = Conference Call / C* = Alternate  Attended / P = Present / A = Absence  W = Waived Absences by County  Executive / R = Waiver Requested	October	November	December	January	February	March	April	Мау	June	September	October	Absences
Patrick Callahan	Р	Р	Р	W	Р	Р	Р	Р				
2. Jillian Copeland	Р	Р	Р	W	Р	Р	Р	Α				
3. Tracy Craig	Α	Р	Р	W	Р	Р	Р	Р				
4. Jake Didinsky	Р	Р	Р	W	Р	Р	Α	Р				
5. Jamie Doyle	Р	Р	Р	W	Р	Р	Р	Р				
6. David Ervin .	Р	Α	Р	W	Р	Р	Α	Р				
7. Natori Green	Р	Р	Р	W	Р	Р	Р	Р				
8. Michael Greenberg	Р	Р	Р	W	Р	Р	Р	Р				
9. Lori Mitchell-Keller .	Α	Р	Р	W	Р	Р	Α	Р				
10. Lisa Lorraine	Р	Р	Р	W	Р	Р	Р	Р				
11. Jenn Lynn	Р	Р	Р	W	Р	Р	Р	Α				
12. Stephen Riley	Р	Р	Р	W	Р	Р	Р	Р				
13. Eric Salzano	Р	Р	Р	W	Р	Р	Α	Р				
14. Carmen Smith	Р	Р	Р	W	Р	Р	Р	Α				
15. Yvonne Vanlowe	Р	Р	Р	W	Р	Р	Р	Р				
16.) Najla Wortham	Р	Р	Α	W	Р	Р	Α	Р				
17.) John Whittle	Р	Р	Р	W	Р	Р	Р	Р				
18.) Carmen Zahra	Р	Р	Р	W	Р	Р	Р	Р				
19.) Smil Soria	W	W	W	W	Р	Р	Р	Α				

Waivers may be requested for absences caused by extenuating circumstances.

Non-Voting Ex-Officio Members

Onesta Duke- Maryland Department of Health.	Р	Р	Р	W	Р	Р	Р	Р		
Justin Hack- WorkSource Montgomery	Р	Р	Р	W	Α	Р	Р	Р		
Dorne Hill- Department of Health and Human Services	Р	Р	Р	W	Р	Α	Р	Α		
4. Karla Nabors- Montgomery College	Р	Р	Р	W	Р	Р	Р	Р		
5. Sharon Norcio- Montgomery County Recreation	Р	Р	Р	W	Р	Р	Р	Р	·	
6. Margie Parrott- Montgomery County Public Schools	W	Р	Р	W	Р	Р	Α	Р		

<u>County Members Present:</u> Ahmna Khan, Karen Gipson, Dr. Patrice Mcghee

Members of the Public: Silvia H.