Skip to main content

The School Resource Officer (SRO) Program

The School Resource Officer (SRO) Program, formerly called the Educational Facilities Officer Program, is an outreach program sponsored by the Montgomery County Police (MCP), Gaithersburg City Police (GPD), Rockville City Police (RCP) and Montgomery County Sheriff’s Office (MCSO) in partnership with the Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS).  School Resource Officers (SROs) serve as liaisons between the police departments and the high schools for school and police-related concerns and incidents.

A School Resource Officer (SRO) is a sworn, uniformed law enforcement officer trained in emergency preparedness, crisis management, community policing concepts, and problem solving who is assigned to work as a liaison to MCPS.

The SRO’s primary function is to enhance the safety and security of the learning environment for students, staff, and the school community in the Montgomery County Public High Schools.  Other duties and responsibilities include but are not limited to:

  • Acting as a resource and assisting with emergency preparedness as well as safety awareness education to the high school population age groups.

  • Meeting regularly with Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) staff, students, and parents, to exchange information and discuss issues of concern within the school.

  • Serving as a point of contact to deliver MCP programs such as crime prevention, conflict resolution and mediation, drug and alcohol awareness, violence prevention, gang awareness, and community relations and outreach.

  • Assisting with calls for service and incidents occurring within their assigned schools.

  • Assisting with traffic safety and traffic enforcement activities at their assigned schools.


 

School Resource Officer  (SRO) Assignments 2018 - 2019


Note: Officers listed are Montgomery County Police Officers unless otherwise noted.
1st District (Rockville)


School Resource Program Supervisors for 1st District Schools:

SRO
Supervisor: Lieutenant Peter Davidov
Email: Peter.Davidov@montgomerycountymd.gov

Rockville City Police SRO Supervisor for Richard Montgomery High School : Sergeant Bill Nieberding
Email: BNieberding@rockvillemd.gov

School Resource Program Officers By School:


Blair Ewing Center - Avery Road Location

Officer George Hyson
Email: George.Hyson@montgomerycountymd.gov


Poolesville High School

Officer Christopher Winkler
Email: Christopher.Winkler@montgomerycountymd.gov

Quince Orchard High School

Officer Joseph Lowery
Email: Joseph.Lowery@montgomerycountymd.gov

Richard Montgomery High School
(Sponsored by Rockville City Police Department)

Rockville City Corporal Rick Halverson
Email: RHalverson@rockvillemd.gov


Rockville High School

Officer Robert Jacaruso
Email: Robert.Jacaruso@montgomerycountymd.gov


Winston Churchill High School

Officer Amy Homrock
Email: Amy.Homrock@montgomerycountymd.gov


Thomas S. Wootton High School

Officer Maureen Connelly
Email: Maureen.Connelly@montgomerycountymd.gov

2nd District (Bethesda)


School Resource Program Supervisor for 2nd District Schools:

SRO
Supervisor: Lieutenant John D'Albora
Email: John.D'Albora@montgomerycountymd.gov

School Resource Program Officers By School:

Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School

Officer Tamara Tisdale
Email: Tamara.Tisdale@montgomerycountymd.gov

Walt Whitman High School

Officer Dana Shoup
Email: Dana.Shoup@montgomerycountymd.gov

Walter Johnson High School

Officer Shate' Jackson
Email: Shate.Jackson@montgomerycountymd.gov

 

3rd District (Silver Spring)


School Resource Program Supervisor for 3rd District Schools:

SRO
Supervisor: Sergeant Edward Wilcher
Email: Edward.Wilcher@montgomerycountymd.gov

School Resource Program Officers By School:

Montgomery Blair High School

Officer Sharese Junious
Email: Sharese.Junious@montgomerycountymd.gov

Paint Branch High School

Officer Brian Walburn
Email: Brian.Walburn@montgomerycountymd.gov

Springbrook High School

Officer Willie Taft
Email: Willie.Taft@montgomerycountymd.gov

 

4th District (Wheaton)


School Resource Program Supervisor for 4th District Schools:

SRO
Supervisor: Lieutenant S.A. Flynn 
Email: S.A.Flynn@montgomerycountymd.gov

School Resource Program Officers By School:

Albert Einstein High School

Officer Percell "PJ" Gregory
Email: Percell.Gregory@montgomerycountymd.gov

James Hubert Blake High School

Officer James McLain
Email: James.McLain@montgomerycountymd.gov


John F. Kennedy High School

Officer Kristie Palmer
Email: Kristie.Palmer@montgomerycountymd.gov

Northwood High School

Officer Brett Mavritte
Email: Brett.Mavritte@montgomerycountymd.gov

Sherwood High School

Officer Wayne Wiltshire
Email: Wayne.Wiltshire@montgomerycountymd.gov

Wheaton High School

Officer Diane Henderon
Email: Diane.Henderson@montgomerycountymd.gov

 

5th District (Germantown)


School Resource Program Supervisor for 5th District Schools:

SRO
Supervisor: Lieutenant Amy Daum
Email: Amy.Daum@montgomerycountymd.gov

School Resource Program Officers By School:

Clarksburg High School


Officer Jonathan Pruziner
Email: Jonathan.Pruziner@montgomerycountymd.gov

Damascus High School

Officer Troy Melott
Email: Troy.Melott@montgomerycountymd.gov


Northwest High School

Officer Wesley Allen
Email: Wesley.Allen@montgomerycountymd.gov

Seneca Valley High School

Officer Russell Larson
Email: Russell.Larson@montgomerycountymd.gov

 

6th District (Gaithersburg)



School Resource Program Supervisors for 6th  District Schools:

Gaithersburg Police Supervisor for Gaithersburg High School : Sergeant Scott Scarff
Email: sscarff@gaithersburgmd.gov

Montgomery County Sheriff's SRO Supervisor for Magruder High School: Lieutenant Keith Naff
Phone:  240-777-7000

Montgomery County Police SRO Supervisor for Watkins Mill High School: Lieutenant Daniel Friz
Email: Daniel.Friz@montgomerycountymd.gov



Gaithersburg High School
(Sponsored by the Gaithersburg Police Department)

Gaithersburg Police Officer Bobby Blackmon
Email: Bobby.Blackmon@gaithersburgmd.gov

Col. Zadok Magruder High School
(Sponsored by the Montgomery County Sheriff's Office)

Montgomery County Deputy Sergeant Cynthia Defriece
Phone: 240-777-7000


Watkins Mill High School

Officer Ashley Breslin
Email: Ashley.Breslin@montgomerycountymd.gov


 

Community Engagement Division: 240-773-6980

Captain Elizabeth Hattenburg            
Office 240-773-6948

Elizabeth.Hattenburg@montgomerycountymd.gov

Sergeant Dan Helton                
Office 240-773-6981

Dan.Helton@montgomerycountymd.gov

Sergeant Kathy Estrada              
Office 240-773-6982

Kathy.Estrada@montgomerycountymd.gov

 

 

 

Montgomery County Department of Police · J. Thomas Manger, Chief
Public Safety Headquarters
100 Edison Park Drive · Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Non-emergency: 301.279.8000
 
Go Top