Hauler and Collector Licensing, and Vehicle Registration

Collector/Hauler home page


Anyone collecting or transporting solid waste within Montgomery County, Maryland, must be licensed, per Chapter 48, Sections 48-19 to 48-30, of the Montgomery County Code (PDF 253 KB).

To receive a license and vehicle registrations, you must submit the application with all information and documents. We cannot process incomplete applications. We must receive completed renewal application at least 30 days prior to your expiration date.

A collector is any person who contracts to collect and provide services for collection and/or transporting the solid waste of others to its disposal site.

  1. Collector / Hauler License Application
    You or your agent must complete and sign this application.
  2. Add a Vehicle to Current Valid License
    Complete this form for each vehicle or trailer you wish to register.
  3. Copy of the State Vehicle Registration Card
    Upload a clear and legible copy of the State Vehicle Registration Card for each vehicle or trailer you wish to register.
  4. Fees
    • The Solid Waste License Fee is $25.00.
    • Solid Waste Vehicle Registration Fee is $5.00 per vehicle or trailer.
    • Once your application is reviewed and approved by the License Program Specialist, your application will be approved for payment. A separate email will be sent with a link to the new payment system. Acceptable forms of payment are credit card and Echeck.
    • Make your Echeck(s) payable to "Montgomery County, Maryland".
    • These fees do not include disposal fees.
  5. Memorandum of Understanding (PDF, 172 kb)
    This is a legally binding agreement between Montgomery County, Maryland, and all licensed collectors. The first and last pages must be completed and the last page must be signed and witnessed. This agreement is required for all collectors, regardless of the type of refuse collected.
  6. County-approved Affidavit Form (PDF, 58 kb)
    An authorized representative of your company must complete and sign this Affidavit.

Have questions?

Email the License Program Specialist at DEP.Licensing@MontgomeryCountyMD.gov or at 240-777-6565.

Collector and Hauler License Requests

Applications and instructions for license requests are available online. All license certificates and decals will be mailed to the  mailing address listed on the application. Additional assistance can be obtained using the following two methods:

  • Telephone and email inquiries
    • Staff will be available to assist and respond to your telephone inquiries and questions by calling 240-777-6565 or 240-595-0080 Monday through Friday from 7:00 am to 3:30 pm. All inquiries, questions, and information may also be submitted via email by sending an email to  DEP.Licensing@MontgomeryCountyMD.gov.

How long are licenses valid?

Solid Waste hauler and collector licenses expire one year from the date of issuance. Vehicle registrations expire on the same date as the license.

Must my company be located in Montgomery County?

You must either have an office business address in Montgomery County, or provide a local or toll-free telephone number.

Which laws apply to collectors and haulers in Montgomery County?

You must follow the provisions of the Montgomery County, Maryland, Solid Wastes Law (Chapter 48).

We will mail the Solid Wastes Law to you only upon request.

What data must I report?

In accordance with Executive Regulation 5-13AM, all County licensed haulers and collectors must submit a semi-annual tonnage report.

Which documents are required for licenses and vehicle registrations?

To ensure the timely completion and processing of your initial application and/or renewal of your current application, you must take the following actions and submit the required documents in order before we can inspect your vehicles.

All vehicles used for hauling and/or collection must have registrations issued and decals affixed under your hauler or collector license.