Members at a Glance

The Montgomery County Council is the legislative branch of County government. It has nine members, all elected at the same time by the voters of Montgomery County to serve four-year terms. Five members of the Council are elected by the voters of their respective Council districts. Four members are elected at-large by all voters of the County. The Council officers are elected by the Council from among its members in December for a one-year term.

The term of the present Council, elected November 2018, began at noon on December 3, 2018 and will continue until noon on December 5, 2022. Officers for 2021-2022 are: 
 Council President: Gabe Albornoz
 Council Vice President: Evan Glass

Current Councilmembers

Gabe Albornoz

D - At - Large, 240-777-7959
Gabe Albornoz Councilmember.Albornoz

Visit Website
Committees: Health & Human Services (Chair), Public Safety

Andrew Friedson

D - District 1, 240-777-7828
Andrew Friedson Councilmember.Friedson

Visit Website
Committees: Planning, Housing & Economic Development (Lead for parks), Government Operations & Fiscal Policy

Evan Glass

D - At - Large, 240-777-7966
Evan Glass Councilmember.Glass

Visit Website
Committees: Health & Human Services, Transportation & Environment (Lead for homelessness and vulnerable communities)

Tom Hucker

D - District 5, 240-777-7960
Tom Hucker Councilmember.Hucker

Visit Website
Committees: Transportation & Environment (Chair), Public Safety

Will Jawando

D - At - Large, 240-777-7811
Will Jawando Councilmember.Jawando

Visit Website
Committees: Planning, Housing & Economic Development, Education & Culture (Lead for libraries)

Sidney Katz

D - District 3, 240-777-7906
Sidney Katz Councilmember.Katz

Visit Website
Committees: Public Safety (Chair), Government Operations & Fiscal Policy

Nancy Navarro

D - District 4, 240-777-7968
Nancy Navarro Councilmember.Navarro

Visit Website
Committees: Government Operations & Fiscal Policy (Chair), Education & Culture

Craig Rice

D - District 2, 240-777-7955
Craig Rice Councilmember.Rice@

Visit Website
Committees: Education & Culture (Chair), Health & Human Services

Hans Riemer

D - At - Large, 240-777-7964
Hans Riemer Councilmember.Riemer

Visit Website
Committees: Planning, Housing & Economic Development (Chair), Transportation & Environment