CHARTER REVIEW COMMISSION (CRC)

April 24, 2024 – 8:00 a.m.

County Office Building – Capital Crescent Conference Room 100 Maryland Avenue, 4th Floor Rockville, MD 20850 Minutes

Commission Members Present:	Staff Present:
Jim Michaels, Chair	Khandikile Sokoni, Office of the County Council
Howard Denis	Stephen Mathany, Office of the County Council
Jeffrey Naftal (Virtual)	Dale Tibbits, Office of the County Executive
Marvin Lynch	(Virtual)
Sherry Brett-Major	
David Nachtsheim (Virtual)	
Michael Persh	
CeCe Grant (Virtual)	
Commission Members Absent	
Dylan Presman	
Marcela Samuels	

Commission Chair Jim Michaels called the meeting to order with a quorum at 8:05 a.m.

I. Administrative Items:

- a. Commissioner Denis moved approval of the agenda, second by Commissioner Persh, adopted unanimously.
- b. Commissioner Lynch moved approval of the April 10, 2024 minutes as revised, second by Commissioner Naftal.
 - i. II(b)i- "unanimous" changed to "two-thirds".

II. Approval of 2024 Report.

- a. Two changes made from circulation of draft report:
 - i. Commissioner Nachtsheim withdrew his dissenting position on section 305 and requested that his dissenting opinion be removed from the final report.
 - ii. Commissioner Naftal will join the Chair's concurring opinion on Section 302.
- b. Moved by Chair Michaels and second by Commissioner Nachtsheim to approve publication of the final report with any technical or formatting edits to be made by staff.
- c. Approved by all present:
 - i. Chair Michaels
 - ii. Commissioner Denis
 - iii. Commissioner Naftal
 - iv. Commissioner Brett-Major
 - v. Commissioner Lynch
 - vi. Commissioner Nachtsheim
 - vii. Commissioner Persh
 - viii. Commissioner Grant (confirmed her approval of report upon joining meeting)

- d. The Charter Review Commission is tentatively scheduled to present the report and findings to the County Council on Tuesday June 11, 2024.
- III. Commission will not meet in May 2024. Meetings will resume in June 2024.
- IV. Meeting on July 10, 2024 will remain.
- V. Commissioner Persh motions to adjourn, seconded by Commissioner Denis.

Meeting Adjourned AT 8:43 AM.