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Montgomery County Temporary Regulation on:

ESTABLISHMENT OF ANNUAL RENTAL FACILITY LICENSE FEES AND
PROCEDURES FOR PROCESSING CLASS 3 ACCESSORY APARTMENT LICENSE

Issued By: County Executive
Regulation No. 4-13T

Effective Date: May 20, 2013

Authority: Code Sections 2A-15() and 29-80

SUMMARY: This temporary regulation is necessary to establish procedures for the
issuance of Class 3 accessory apartment licenses and establish the license
fees for Class 3 accessory apartment licenses for the law which takes effect

on May 20, 2013.

ADDRESSES: Additional information and copies of the regulation are available from
Cynthia Gaffney, Division of Housing, 100 Maryland Avenue, 4" Floor,

Rockville, Maryland 20850 (240-777-3665).
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Section 1. Definitions.

The following words or phrases are defined as follows for use in this regulation:

Class 3 accessory apartment license means a Jicense issued by the Department for an accessory apartment
that does not have a special exception approved before May 20, 2013.

Department means the Department of Housing and Community Affairs.

Director means the Director of the Department Housing and Community Affairs or the Director’s
designee.

Owner means any person who holds legal title to a one-family detached dwelling unit.
Primary Residence means a one-family detached dwelling unit where the owner regularly resides and is

the location designated by the owner for legal purposes of obtaining a driver’s license and filing tax
returns.

Section 2. Fees.
(a) The annual license fees for rental dwelling units are hereby established as follows:

(1 ForaClass 1 multi-family rental facility license $38.00 per dwelling unit in an
apartment complex or an accessory apartment and $56.00 per dwelling unit for
all others.

(2)  ForaClass 2 single family rental facility license $98.00 per dwelling unit.

(3) Fora Class 3 accessory apartment license $98.00 per unit. -

(b)  The annual license fee shall not be prorated and must be made payable to Montgomery
County Maryland.

(c) Failure to obtain a rental facility license is a Class A violation under Section 1-19 of
the Montgomery County Code.

(D In addition to the annual license fee, the following fees for a Class 3 accessory
 apartment license are hereby established as follows:
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(1)  The application filing fee is $250.00 of which $125.00 is refundable if the
Director finds the proposed accessory apartment does not meet the zoning
requirements in Section 59-A-6.20 prior to the Department’s inspection of the
proposed accessory apartment to ascertain whether it complies with Chapter 26
of the Montgomery County Code.

(2)  The sign fee is $220.00 of which $110.00 is refundable if the sign is returned
to the Department within 15 days of the end of the posting period.

(A)  The sign fee is not refundable if the sign is not returned or is returned
but damaged.

(B)  If the sign is lost during the posting period, the original sign fee of
$220.00 will not be refunded and a new sign fee of $220.00 will be
charged.

(3)  The fee for the transfer of an accessory apartment license is $250.00.
Section 3. Procedure for a Processing a Class 3 Accessory Apartment License.
(a) An owner must file a completed license application on a form provided by the
Department which will require at least the following supporting documents to be
submitted with the application form: '

(1)  Evidence of primary residence as specified in Section 29-19(b)(1)(B).

(2) A drawing of the dimensions of the single family dwelling, including the
dimensions and location of the proposed accessory apartment.

(3) A drawing or photograph with the dimensions and locations of the proposed
parking spaces

(4)  An affidavit from the owner attesting that the owner will continue to use the
property as the owner’s primary residence after obtaining an accessory
apartment license.

(3)  An affidavit from the owner attesting that the total number of occupants
residing in the accessory apartment who are 18 years or older will be limited to
2. :
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(6)  The filing fee, license application fee, and sign fee established by this
Regulation.

(b)  The Director will review the arpp‘li.cation for complefenésé and will send a notification
by regular mail or electronic mail about whether the application was accepted by the
Department or whether the application will be returned to the applicant. Returned
applications will contain all filing fees and an explanation about why the application is
being returned.

(© The Director will review the application and supporting documents and may inspect

~ the property to determine whether the proposed accessory apartment satisfies the
zoning requirements in Section 59-A-6.20.

(d)  The Department will also inspect the property and the proposed accessory apartment
for compliance with the provisions of Chapter 26 of the Montgomery County Code.

(e) When the Department has determined the application is complete, the owner must

erect a sign furnished by the Department. A determination by the Director that an
application is complete is not a determination about whether the proposed accessory

apartment satisfies the zoning requirements in Section 59-A-6.20 or the requirements
of Chapter 26.

(1 Unless otherwise provided by the‘Department, the sign must be erected on the
property in a place visible from each public road which abuts the property, as
determined by the Department.

(2)  Unless otherwise provided by the Department, the sign must be erected so that
the bottom of the sign is at least 2 ¥ feet from the ground. The sign will be of
such material and color or colors as the Department specifies, with the height
and width of not less than 2 and 3 feet, respectively, and must contain in
conspicuous lettering not less than 2 1/2 inches in height the following:

(A)  Inform the public of a pending accessory apartment application with
the application’s reference number.

(B)  Provide the Department’s website address for information about the
application and information on filing an objection to the application.
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(C)  Provide a telephone number to contact the Department regarding the
status of the application.

The sign must be posted within 5 days of the acceptance of thé application by
the Department and remain posted for at least 30 days after the issuance of the
Director’s report with the Director’s findings concermning the application .

Before a Class 3 accessory apartment license is issued, the owner must provide
a signed affidavit attesting that the sign was posted in compliance with this
Regulation.

The sign must be returned to the Department within 15 days after the end of
the posting period for a partial refund of the sign fee.

Failure to post the sign in accordance with this Regulation will result in the
return of the application and filing fees and the Director denying the proposed
accessory apartment.

(f) The Director will issue a report on all findings required by this Regulation concerning
the proposed accessory apartment within 30 days of the Department’s acceptance of
the application. A copy of the report will be sent to the owner by regular mail or
electronic mail and posted on the Department’s website.

(g)  The Director will issue or deny a new license 30 days after the issuance of the
' Director’s report.

If any repairs or improvements are required before the license may be
approved, they must be completed within 30 days of the Director’s report or
the application may be denied and the license and application fees forfeited.
The Director may waive or extend the 30 day requirement at the Director’s
discretion. Any waiver or extension of the 180 day period must be in writing.

If new construction is required before the license may be approved, it must be
completed within 180 days or the application may be denied and the license
and application fees forfeited. The Director may waive or extend the 180 day
requirement at the Director’s discretion. Any waiver or extension of the 180
day period must be in writing.

(h)  The Director may renew a license once the requirements of Chapter 29-19(b)(3) are

. 4 /9 6 Juct.




MONTGOMERY COUNTY
EXECUTIVE REGULATION

Offices of the County Executive » 101 Monroe Street » Rockville, Maryland 20850

Subject

Establishment of Procedures for Class 3 Accessory Apartment License

Number
4-13T

Originating Department
Department of Housing and Community Affairs

Effective Date
May 20, 2013

requirements of Chapter 29-19(b)(5) are met.

Approved:

County Executive ‘

Approved as to Form and Legality
Office of the County Attorney

By:

Date: ?/Zé - (l S

Sl 37 3503
Date/ 4 '

() The Director may transfer an accessory apartment Class 3 license once the
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