You have the option of obtaining the collision (accident) report 3 ways: online, via mail, or in person at your local district police station or the Public Safety Headquarters (currently suspended).

Please note: The Police Department is required to verify that the person requesting the police report is an involved party in the incident. Montgomery County complies with the Maryland Public Information Act to determine the appropriate release of records.

Online

Easy & Convenient
All major credit cards accepted

Online

To request a collision (accident) report via the online portal,

  1. Create a User account at Montgomery County Police Department Records Center
  2. Upload a copy of your photo identification card such as a driver’s license to your account
  3. Select “ Submit a Records Request” and then select “ Accident Report
  4. Each report is $10.00. All major credit cards are accepted.

By Mail

To request a collision (accident) report please mail the following items to the address below:

  1. A completed and signed collision report request form.
  2. A copy of your photo identification card such as a driver’s license
  3. A self-addressed stamped envelope
  4. A check or money order for $10.00 made payable to: Montgomery County Government, Maryland

Mailing Address:

Public Safety Headquarters
Records Division
100 Edison Park Drive
Gaithersburg, Maryland 20878

In Person

Collision reports can be obtained in person either at the Police District Station in which the collision occurred or at the Public Safety Headquarters (currently suspended).

Police District Station

  1. Please call the Police District Station ahead of time to ensure that the report is ready.
  2. Please know that it can take approximately three to five days after the collision for a report to be processed and be ready for purchase.
  3. Once you verify that a report is available, it is available 24-hours a day.
  4. Each report is $10.00. All major credit cards and cash are accepted as payment.

Public Safety Headquarters

  1. Please call the Records Section at 240-773-5330 ahead of time to ensure that the report is ready.
  2. Please know that it can take approximately three to five days after the collision for a report to be processed and be ready for purchase.
  3. Once you verify that a report is available, the reports are available Monday through Friday from 8:00 am to 4:00 p.m.
  4. Each report is $10.00. All major credit cards and cash are accepted as payment.