A ticket issued through Montgomery County’s automated traffic enforcement program is a civil violation similar to a parking violation. You may pay the fine, which is an admission of guilt, or you may request a hearing. According to Maryland State law, the registered vehicle owner is responsible for the citation. You have the option of paying red light camera tickets four different ways: online, by mail, by phone, or in person.

We also strictly enforce failing to come to a complete stop prior to making a right turn on red.

  • Registered owner of vehicle receives a $75.00 civil citation.
  • No points will be issued against the vehicle owner’s driving record.
  • Failure to pay fines will result in one's inability to renew the vehicle registration.
Pay Online

Easy & Convenient
Available 24 Hours, via credit card (Mastercard and Visa)
Must have a citation number.

By mail

Automated Traffic Enforcement
P.O. Box 10549
Rockville, Maryland 20849

By phone

1-866-579-5742
Follow the automated prompts Have your ticket number and credit card ready

In person

Two Locations
(4040 Blackburn Lane, Suite 200, Burtonsville or 255 Rockville Pike, Suite L15, Rockville)

Pay by Mail

Mail the Red Light Ticket with check or money order made payable to  Montgomery County, MD. Write the citation number and license plate number on your check or money order to ensure proper credit. Returned checks are subject to electronic redeposit for the face amount and a fee of $35.00. DO NOT SEND CASH.

Pay in Person

You can pay your red light ticket in either Burtonsville or Rockville location

Address 4040 Blackburn Lane, Suite 200, Burtonsville, MD 20866
Main Office 1-866-579-5742
Hours 8:00am - 5:00pm, Monday - Friday
(except county holidays )
Forms of Payment Cash, Check, Money Order, Visa or Master Card
Address 255 Rockville Pike, Suite L15, Rockville, MD 20850
Main Office 240-777-8970
Hours 8:00am - 4:30pm, Monday - Friday
(except county holidays )
Forms of Payment Cash, Check, Money Order, Visa or Master Card

Request a Court Date

Request court date by mailing in the bottom portion of the citation to Automated Traffic Enforcement Unit at least five (5) days prior to the due date on citation.

Automated Traffic Enforcement Unit
Post Office Box 10549
Rockville, Maryland 20849

If you were not driving the vehicle

If you, as the registered owner, were not operating the vehicle at the time of the red light infraction and want to identify the person who was, you shall provide a statement that you were not the driver.

  • Your statement must swear and affirm that the person named in the citation was not operating the vehicle at the time of the violation.
  • You must provide the full name and the address of the driver.
  • You must provide your day time phone number.
  • You must sign the letter.
  • All requests must be received no later than thirty (30) days after the mail date of the citation.
  • Send your request in an envelope clearly marked “ Transfer of Liability” to: Automated Traffic Enforcement Unit, P.O. Box 10314, Gaithersburg, MD 20898.

Questions? Contact Red Light Enforcement at ateu.redlight@montgomerycountmd.gov or call 240-773-6050