Multi-Family Properties Rental License Requirements



Who Must Be Licensed?

Montgomery County Code Chapter 29 requires all multi-family property owners obtain a rental housing license before their property units may be rented or advertised for rent.

What is required to receive a Rental Housing License?

  • Complete online Rental Housing License Application (requires an AccessMCG account)
    • Complete all contact information for owner(s), Administrative Agents or Management Contacts
    • Corporation Owners must include all contact information for General Partner(s) with at least 5% interest in corporation
    • Trusts Ownerships must include all contact information for Trustee(s)
    • .Owners who live outside of Maryland or who use P.O. Box must designate a Resident Agent who lives in Maryland or is licensed to conduct business in Maryland for service of process.
  • Maryland Lead Poisoning Compliance is required for properties built prior to January 1, 1978 
    • Annual MDE Registration for Tracking Number
    • Lead Poisoning Inspection Certificate
  • Newly purchased properties must include HUD-1 form or Settlement Sheet with new owners' name(s)
  • Pay annual license fee for each year or partial year property is rented

What else is required for Multi-Family Rental Housing License?

  • Copy of Property's Rent Roll
    • List of entire property's rental units including each unit's address, current rent, number of bedrooms, occupancy or advertised rent of vacant units
  • Copy of Property's Lease and Lease Addendum (unless using Montgomery County Sample Lease)
  • Ratio Utility Billing System (RUBS)
    • Used when landlord bills tenants for utilities based on calculations of common area water and sewer charges
    • Upload completed RUBS form at time of application
  • Complete Annual Rental Housing Survey (April 1-30)
    • Multi-family properties are required to complete the Rental Housing Survey on tenant services, rents, unit sizes, occupancy and structure types.
    • Rental Housing Survey Results are published online
  • Post current Rental Housing License in prominent public place such as the lobby, vestibule, rental office, or landlord unit.

What if I forgot something or need to update my application?

Are there penalties for renting without a License or not completing the Rental Housing Survey?

  • Any multi-family property owner who operates a rental property without first having obtained a License is subject to a class A violation and may have to pay $500 civil fines as a penalty.
  • Any multi-family property owner who fails to complete the annual Rental Housing Survey is subject to a Class A violation and may have to pay $1000 civil fines as a penalty.

Do I have to apply online?

DHCA Licensing and Registration, 1401 Rockville Pike, 4th Floor, Rockville, MD  20852

What if I have more questions?

  • If you have more questions, see Frequently Asked Questions or contact Licensing and Registration, via the Montgomery County MC311 service, at 311 (within Montgomery County) or (240) 777-0311.