Cable Compliance Commission


The Cable Compliance Commission adjudicates subscriber complaints involving customer cable service.


The Cable Compliance Commission (CCC) was formed through the establishment of Montgomery County Code 8A-31A. The CCC adjudicates subscriber complaints involving customer cable tv service.

Residents with complaints should visit this page first to file a complaint electronically or by phone. Next, the Cable Office will work to assist with the resident's concern. This is the primary method of resolving a complaint with a provider after the resident attempts to work directly with their service provider. A continued step available in the complaint process is the Cable Compliance Commission (CCC). The CCC was established to provide assistance with complaints that are not satisfactorily resolved. After our office has filed an issue with the cable operator and, after 30 days, the complaint/resolution is still disputed, the complainant may request a hearing before the Cable Compliance Commission. When filed with the CCC, it is reviewed by the Commission to ensure jurisdiction. If that is established, a hearing is set and both parties are notified. Complainants represent themselves during the hearing. The CCC is one of the County’s volunteered Commissions comprised of five County residents that have been appointed by the County Executive and confirmed by the County Council.


The Commission is comprised of 5 voting members appointed by the County Executive and confirmed by the County Council. Three year terms - no compensation. During the initial term, two members will be appointed for two year terms. If the County Cable Office cannot resolve the complaint with the cable company, to the customer's satisfaction, in 30 days you can request a hearing. The Commissioners annually must elect a chair and vice chair of the Commission. An individual must not serve more than 2 consecutive terms as chair.

  • Michael Friedman
  • Melanye Johnson (Chair)
  • Deval Mehta
  • Theo Nicholas
  • Vikram Pant